Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #55- Cauliflower Burger with Fire Roasted Pepper Sauce

IMG_0379.jpg

Lately I have been on a vegetable kick and my favorite vegetables of the summer have been cauliflowers and peppers. I recently discovered these baby peppers called lunch box peppers and they are the sweetest peppers I have tasted. For this week's Steemit sandwich contest created by @jaybird I thought I would try to make a roasted cauliflower burger with fire roasted lunch box pepper sauce.

IMG_0381.jpg

Ingredients

  • cauliflower burger (cauliflower, mushrooms, corn, scallions, quinoa, farro, chickpea pasta, salt, pepper, smoked paprika, thyme, garlic, bread crumbs and olive oil)
  • roasted red pepper sauce (lunch box peppers, ground almonds, olive oil, salt, pepper, sherry vinegar and garlic)
  • pickled red onions (jalapeños, apple cider vinegar, brown sugar, and salt)
  • beet caraway seed rolls (bread flour, beet powder, water, yeast, salt, sugar, caraway seeds and olive oil)

For the cauliflower patties I thought I would drizzle the cauliflower with olive oil and season with salt, pepper, smoked paprika, crushed garlic and some fresh chopped thyme. I placed the cauliflower into a 375 degree F oven and roasted the cauliflower until it was cooked, but still has some texture to it. While the cauliflower was roasting, I sautéed some mushrooms and corn with scallions.

IMG_0342.jpg

Once the cauliflower was cool enough to handle, I chopped it into pieces and placed it into a food processor bowl along with the mushrooms. I pulsed the cauliflower mixture into bite sized pieces. Then I added in the cooked quinoa and farro.

IMG_0363.jpg

To bind this mixture together, I overcooked some chickpea pasta. You can use any type of pasta but you have to overcook it so when you pulverize it in a food processor it will turn gluey and this will bind your burger together without having to use eggs.

IMG_0382.jpg

I formed the vegetable mixture into patties and coated it in breadcrumbs and pan fried them until they were golden brown.
I thought adding a coating of breadcrumbs would add a crispy element to the veggie patties.

IMG_0383.jpg

For the sauce I placed some peppers directly on an open flame to char the skin. I wrapped the peppers in aluminum foil and baked them in a 350 degree F oven until the peppers were soft. Once the peppers are cooled, I discarded the skin and seeds and pureed them with some ground almonds, garlic, olive oil, sherry vinegar and some salt. The almonds help thicken the sauce so the consistency will be similar to mayonnaise.

IMG_0385.jpg

In keeping with the vegetable theme, I made some beet root buns flavored with caraway seeds. Unfortunately the beautiful pink hue from the beet powder was lost after the bread was baked.

IMG_0384 (1).jpg

This sandwich is loaded with flavor from the fire roasted pepper sauce, pickled onions and roasted cauliflower. It's smokey, garlicky, sweet, tangy and simply delicious!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-27T21:28:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 374.35/200.00
Total Photos: 59
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow - a lot of work went into those burgers, but it sounds delicious!

The food processor did most or the work for me, haha. Your banana choc chip muffins like scrumptious. I can just imagine how much flavor the coconut milk added to the muffins. Thank you @introvertathome.

This looks really good. I would never think to use cauliflower as a base for a burger, although I have used it as a base for pizza crust before. Nice presentation!

I like the versatility of cauliflower and it was perfect for this burger. Thanks so much @ilsaione.

YUMMY @loveself ,nice recipe .My mother loves cauliflower very much. When i get a chance i will surprise my mom with this recipe.Thanks for sharing this recipe.

That is so thoughtful of you. Thanks so much @sandeepadiyara and I look forward to seeing more art from you and your talented son.

This looks so delicious @loveself, I just love veggies in any form!

Me too! I'm always looking for new ways to prepare vegetables. Thank you @lizelle.

This burger looks so savory and delicious! You are very talented at getting the most flavor out of vegetables. I can just look at your ingredients and method and see that this is a home run dish!

Thanks so much for your compliment @chefsteve. I can't wait to see the entries for the docsmith contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49