Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #51- Fishwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9679.jpg

I remember when I was a kid, my first visit to the States was to Los Angeles to visit some family friends. They thought it would be fun to introduce the kids to McDonald's. I remember my mum being horrified since she was definitely not a fan of fast food and she had managed to keep her children far away from ever trying the golden arches. She decided to order for us the filet-o-fish, believing it would be the "healthiest" option. For week #51 of Steemit's sandwich contest created by @jaybird I was inspired to make a grown up version of a fish sandwich.

IMG_9686.jpg

Ingredients

  • sourdough seaweed rolls (sourdough starter, bread flour, yeast, salt, sugar, olive oil, egg, and seaweed)
  • fried fish (cod, salt, pepper, smoked paprika, cracker crumbs, fresh dill, egg, and flour)
  • balsamic mayonnaise (mayonnaise, roasted garlic, sautéed scallions, and balsamic vinegar)
  • sautéed kale (Tuscan kale, olive oil, and salt)
  • crispy kale (olive oil, Tuscan kale and salt)

I wanted to make a roll that was soft, yet sturdy enough to hold all the juices from the fish. I chose to make a sourdough and to tie the seafood theme I thought it would be fun to add some seaweed into the dough.

IMG_9688.jpg

You can see the tiny specks of seaweed in the roll!

IMG_9690.jpg

For the fish, I did not want to batter and deep fry it so I breaded the cod in cracker crumbs. I used Ritz crackers. This is also a great way to use up any stale crackers left in a box. I really like fresh dill with fish so I pulverized the crackers with the herbs. The cod was seasoned with salt, pepper and some smoked paprika before being coated in the crumb mixture.

IMG_9689.jpg

Instead of classic tartar sauce, I made a super flavorful mayonnaise by mixing in some roasted garlic cloves, sautéed scallions and a generous splash of balsamic vinegar.

IMG_9684.jpg

To assemble the sandwich, I added mayonnaise to the bottom half of the seaweed roll, then a mound of cooked kale and breaded fish. On the top half of the roll, I spread more mayonnaise because you can never have enough and it works as a glue to hold the crispy oven roasted kale.

IMG_9685.jpg

The tricky part is to put the two halves together. The fish was juicy and permeated with the fresh flavor of dill. The richness of the mayonnaise, plus the tartness of the balsamic vinegar was perfect with the fish. The crispy kale added crunch to each bite.

IMG_9677.jpg

Thank you @jaybird for another incredible week. Time to eat!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-28T19:42:45
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 283.35/200.00
Total Photos: 45
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Impressive piece! Love that ur mama thought it’d be the healthiest thing from
MC..

This one looks truly delic tho! Lots of great flavours n combo flavours going on here. The praprika n dill were a nice touch.

Epic homemade bread too! Pres is awesome on the whole

My mum and I always have a good chuckle when we bring up that story. I appreciate your feedback; thank you @jaybird.

You also made the dough yourself. Ohhhh P Angie, will you marry meee??? 5555

AHAHA, can't wait to see you in Bangkok. Thank you @waybeyondpadthai.

Love this! The addition of seaweed in the sourdough was a great idea! They look so fluffy! And the mayo mix, tart, just what you need! You are so creative @loveself! Great presentation.

I find plain mayo is a bit bland for my taste so I like to add in a bunch of flavorful mix ins to make it more tasty. Thanks so much @birdsinparadise.

Hello, @loveself what a delicious sandwich you showcased chumy chumy.
Looking forward to meet in Canada.

Thanks @ngozichuks. I look forward to seeing a sandwich created by you.

Great fishwich @loveself, your yeast bakes always look so amazing!

Thank you for your compliment @lizelle.

I think I'll try your recipe....sounds yummy.

I hope you do! Thank you @buddy67.

I am getting hungry just by looking at your nicely cooked flaky fish!!

Ahaha I lucked out with the cooking. Usually I have the tendency to overcook all of my protein! Always a pleasure to hear from you @alansthoughs.

Well, then your really did a good job this time!

That looks tasty! I haven't had fish in ages. 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89