Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #49- Shrimp Burgers

IMG_9294.JPG

I'm not great with gardening so I asked my husband to plant some herbs instead of flowers in our garden for me. I have to say I haven't been paying much attention and I just noticed the herbs have really flourished. I have been trying to use as much fresh herbs in my cooking as possible, so for this week's inspiration @jaybird's sandwich contest, I thought I would make shrimp burgers flavored with lots of fresh herbs from the garden.

IMG_9293.JPG

Ingredients

  • shrimp patties (shrimp, chives, golden oregano, thyme, smoked paprika, bread crumbs, salt, pepper and egg)
  • fried shallots (canola oil, flour, and salt)
  • hamburger bun
  • pepperoncini and lemon mayonnaise
  • pickled zucchini (zucchini, tumeric, allspice berries, white vinegar, sugar, fresh dill, and salt)

IMG_9290.jpg

For the shrimp patties, I placed the shrimp into a food processor and pulsed the shrimp for a few seconds. I wanted the shrimp to be coarsely chopped. Then I added my fresh herbs, bread crumbs, egg and seasonings. I formed the shrimp mixture into thick patties and pan fried them in some olive oil.

IMG_9279.jpg

Fried shallots are one of my favorite condiments. They add so much flavor to any dish. The trick to making these shallots are to slice them thinly on a mandolin and to dust them with flour just before you add them into a 300 degree F oil. You need to fry them at a lower temperature because the shallots will turn dark brown quickly and have a bitter after taste. You can make a big batch and store them in an airtight container. I like to add them to soups, salads or eat them as a snack.

IMG_9302.JPG

My burger was missing a sauce so I diced some pepperoncini which are pickled Italian hot peppers and mixed them with mayonnaise and some freshly grated lemon zest. Now I am ready to assemble my burger. I split the bun in half and toasted them on an open flame. On the top bun, I spread some pepperoncini mayonnaise and on the bottom bun, I placed a shrimp burger with some pickled zucchini strips. I topped the zucchini with a generous mound of fried shallots before placing the top bun. Let's eat!

IMG_9297.JPG

Sort:  

hello, loveself your husband must be a great person in deed for assisting you in planting the herbs.
l now know that cooking with herbs really makes a great meal.
l wish l had the opportunity to taste your meal.
Anyways a delicious meal you prepared.
thanks loveself.

You are too kind. I'm terrible with gardening. Thank you@ngozichuks2.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-16T00:36:48
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 257.35/200.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.68 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That is an absolute killer recipe. Thanks for posting it. Further, your writing is so clear that a lot of professional foodies could take a few lessons from you. I'm going to try this with ciabatta buns tomorrow. Cheers.

You have a great voice! Do you compose and write your own songs? I really enjoyed the one in your intro post. Thank you so much @hallamhighwater.

Omg this looks insanely amazingly delicious - I wanna eat it right now!

Your pictures of Tofino are absolutely stunning. I'll have to make a trip there. Thank you @kuklamasha.

Wow @loveself this is an absolute winner! Dying to try this burger and will definitely make this one day. Kudos on using your homegrown herbs. We're big into using 'fresh from the farm/land' ingredients. Btw, do you have a recipe book of your own? If you do, send us a link and we may (depending on the price) but it. If you don't, then we would consider that you make an e-book or a website with all your delicious dishes! Just an idea, otherwise continue to share it for free here 😊

Thank you for your compliment and suggestion. I don't have a recipe book. I do like to read cookbooks and cook. You've given me something to think about!

You're welcome! It's just something we've noticed that you are very creative and use a host of different cuisines in your cooking. It would be great to have some of that insight to please ourselves (first) and then treat our friends and family. However, it depends if you have the time to create one ;)

I've never really eaten a shrimp burger and the shrimp are my favorites

This hamburger looks very good with that lemon mayonnaise

Wish I could trade half of my shrimp burger for half of your pancake sandwich. Thank you @yesslife.

Holy fuk....

This is a magnificent piece!

Firstly , love this shrimp burger. No one has ever made this in SSC as far as i can recall :)

I also love shrimp, maybe as much as i love bacon...?

The patties themselves: excellent prep and ingredient adds. Absolutely appreciate using all the fresh herbs 🤘

Never heard of allspice berries. Are they sweet or bitter...r they even berries lol?

Big points for the dusted shallots 2 and homemade mayo sauce!

This was a most excellent contribution for this weeks contest !

When you read descriptions about allspice they always say it tastes a bit like cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves...hence the name allspice. I don't think it does. It has it's own distinct taste. It's earthy and woody and used in Jamaican food. It is a berry but it's usually picked unripened. Thank you for the compliment and I always guessed you must be a fan of bacon and avocados from your manwich posts, but I did not know shrimp was up there with bacon. They are both so good!

Really, really beautiful! You knocked this sandwich out of the park this week. I love the shallots, pickled zucchini and then the shrimp burger....the mayo was a great add. Well done @loveself!!

Aww, thank you @birdsinparadise. How was your visit with your daughter?

One Shrimp burger for me please, sounds absolutely delicious @loveself, those shallots as well! Good luck with the contest;)

Thank you @lizelle. I wish I could taste some of your magnificent creations in person!

I'd quit my job for a bite of this sandwich!

Thanks so much for the compliment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95