Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #48- Currywurst

IMG_9219 (1).jpg

I rarely eat hotdogs but I was having a craving for one and for this week's anything goes theme for @jaybird's sandwich contest I thought I would make a currywurst. Currywurst is a popular German snack food which consists of a fried pork sausage cooked in a spicy curry ketchup sauce. It's usually served by itself or with french fries. I decided to make a sandwich version.

IMG_9212.jpg

Ingredients

  • Pretzel Roll (bread flour, sugar, buttermilk, yeast, olive oil, salt, brown sugar, baking soda, onion, poppy seeds, sesame seeds, garlic, and malden sea salt)
  • Turkey kielbasa
  • Curry Sauce (onions, tomatoes, apricots, curry powder, turmeric, , vinegar, Tabasco, garlic, and olive oil)
  • Pickled Radish (pickling juice, fresh dill and Italian parsley)

When I was living in Germany, without fail, I would stop into a bakery and purchase a freshly baked pretzel on my way to work. They were soft and fluffy unlike the NYC style street pretzels which are much more dense and chewy. I thought I would put a little spin on my pretzels by making a German style dough but adding an everything bagel topping to my pretzel bun.

IMG_9215.jpg

Everything topping is usually found on bagels which consists of dehydrated onions, poppy seeds, sesame seeds, dehydrated garlic, and salt. I made my own version by using fresh onions and garlic in place of the dehydrated ones. Just before baking the pretzel rolls, I sprinkled the tops with the onion mixture.

IMG_9214.jpg

For the curry sauce I didn't want to use ketchup as my base so I use canned tomatoes instead. For a touch of sweetness I added some fresh apricots. The curry flavor is subtle and works really well with the tomatoes and apricots.

IMG_9213.jpg

For assembling the currywurst sandwich. I split one of my pretzel rolls vertically. Instead of pork sausage I used turkey kielbasa. I lightly scored the skin of the turkey kielbasa before grilling it. I like to score my hotdogs because this way when I add the curry sauce on the sausage, there are more nooks to trap the sauce.

IMG_9211.jpg

I added some picked radishes which added extra acidity and crunch to this sandwich. The star of this sandwich is the curry sauce. It's spicy, vinegary, and bright. Happy snacking!

IMG_9210.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, another amazing sandwich, well done! The bread looks wonderful and the curry sauce sounds divine! Beautiful!

I'll trade my sandwich for your grilled salmon. Thank you @birdsinparadise.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-08T21:20:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 237.85/200.00
Total Photos: 38
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Well this certainly worked out well lol. Epic Sausage ;)

Love the home made pretzel bun w/the everything bagel toppings. specially that ..Onion is it?

Top notch creation! It definitely not the "wurst" thing to have a hotdog craving when they turn out like this!

LOL! Yes, I love everything bagel topping so much I wish I could sprinkle it on everything. It's all about the onion and garlic. Thank you @jaybird.

This sandwich looks like a real deal, I love it!

Thanks so much @earworm. Are you still learning Mandarin? How are your lessons?

Not at this moment, I got back to Thai. I think it is high time I nailed it, I have been staying here way too long not to speak proper Thai. :)

I love the shape and color of this bread
well done :)

The color of the bread is achieved by boiling the dough in baking soda and brown sugar before baking it in the oven. Thank you @yesslife.

I rarely eat hotdogs but I was having a craving for one and for this week's anything goes theme for @jaybird's sandwich contest I thought I would make a currywurst. what a decision you made for yourself.

When I was living in Germany, without fail, I would stop into a bakery and purchase a freshly baked pretzel on my way to work. Germany provided such a great teats and ingredients for you ,within your period of stay there.
However , your Currywurst German delicacy and its preparetion method is a delightful one.

Wow @loveself, awesome entry, that pretzel roll must have been absolutely delicious even on its own!

I make it all the time just to eat as a snack. My favorite is with spicy mustard. Thank you @lizelle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55