Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #47- Flamin' Hot Cheetos Crusted Chicken and Bacon Marmalade Jam Melt

IMG_9076 (1).jpg

One of my guilty pleasures is eating Flamin' Hot Cheetos. I do not know what they put into those crunchy corn snacks but they are spicy, tangy and you can never just eat the suggested serving size, at least not for me. Whenever I indulge in them my fingers are always stained red for days and that is probably why I stay away from them. Did you know that Flamin' Hot Cheetos were invented by a janitor who was inspired by his native country's dish of corn sprinkled with chili and lime source? For this week's weird sandwich theme on Steemit's sandwich contest created by @jaybird, I thought I would make a cheesy melted sandwich incorporating the bright colored cheetos.

Ingredients

  • cornmeal bread (bread flour, coarse cornmeal, scallions, honey, buttermilk, egg, salt and canola oil)
  • Flamin' Hot Cheetos crusted baked chicken breast (chicken, flour, eggs, ranch seasoning, buttermilk, Flamin' Hot Cheetos)
  • bacon jam (bacon, onions, brown sugar, vinegar, balsamic vinegar, fresh thyme, garlic, marmalade, and mustard)
  • pickled jalapeños
  • mayonaise
  • cheddar cheese
  • monterey jack cheese
  • ranch seasoning
  • fresh dill
  • fresh thyme
  • arugula

IMG_9083.jpg

IMG_9081.jpg

Since cheetos are made with cornmeal, I wanted to make a bread that also had cornmeal. To make the bread more savory, I added some sliced scallions which complemented the cornmeal and honey.

IMG_9079.jpg

Sometimes I find chicken breasts can be quite bland so I marinated them overnight in buttermilk and powdered ranch seasoning. The buttermilk will help tenderize the chicken breasts and add a bit of tanginess. To finish the chicken, they were dredged in flour, then dipped in beaten eggs and coated with crushed Flamin' Hot Cheetos. I wanted to keep that bright red hue associated with cheetos so I baked the chicken breasts. I wanted to add another unlikely pairing with my baked Cheetos crusted chicken so I made a bacon jam.

IMG_9080.jpg

For the bacon jam, I rendered the bacon until the bacon was crispy and then I sautéed onions in some of the bacon fat. The bacon and onion mixture was slowly cooked along with the sugar, garlic, fresh thyme, mustard, water and vinegars until jam consistency. The jam was salty, sweet and sour but I felt something was missing so I rummaged through my refrigerator and saw a jar of marmalade and knew this would be perfect. The marmalade added a bright citrusy note.

IMG_9078.jpg

Now my sandwich is coming along. To finish the sandwich I spread some mayonnaise on the outside of the bread. On one piece of bread I spread a layer of bacon condiment and on the second slice of bread I spread a mixture of cheddar, Monterey jack cheese, mayonnaise, chopped thyme, dill and ranch dressing seasoning. The mayonnaise is to add richness to the sandwich. For some reason when the Cheetos were crushed, they lost some of their heat and I wanted more heat to my sandwich so I added pickled jalapeño slices. The slices of bread were slowly grilled mayonnaise side down until the cheese melted. I sandwiched the slices of bread with a piece of chicken breast and some arugula leaves.

IMG_9088.jpg

This sandwich is not for the faint of heart. It's creamy, cheesy, sweet, smokey, salty, spicy, tangy, and the burst of orange marmalade brought all the flavors together. The pepperiness of the arugula added freshness and helped cut through the richness of this sandwich.

IMG_9089.jpg

For all sandwich lovers out there, check out the competition here and start sharing your creations. Happy sandwich eating!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-01T18:50:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 218.35/200.00
Total Photos: 35
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

ahaha so weird, i love it.

That bacon jam, looks piiiiiiiiimp! NIce job on that as well as the cornmeal bread.

Great idea to "bread" the chicken breast with the cheetos. I did not know their origins were tied to a janitor lol. thanks for that historic tidbit ;)

I thought what a great excuse for me to indulge in my favorite snack! Thanks @jaybird.

I gave up flamin' hot cheetos long ago...but I might need to come out of retirement for this, whoa!

Matter of fact, where can I pick one up? I live in NYC lol

You should be able to find them at any Duane Reade or CVS which is on every corner in the city, haha. Thank you @manup. How do you pick your word of the day?

Haha I meant where can I pick up this sandwich?

I use a random word generator but I don't pick just any word. It has to be a word that I don't have an explicit definition for off the top of my head. I may know what it means in the context of a sentence already but can't articulate it. So it helps me learn :)

OH, I made up the sandwich but I'm sure there must be somewhere in NYC that makes a dish with flaming hot cheetos. Thank you and enjoy your Sunday.

Mmm mmm mmm!! This loks so delicious! I wish I had one in my mouth right now. It's lunch time right now and I feel like the decision has been made for me. I do hope it doesn't pale too much in comparison to this!

What did you have for lunch? I'm sure it was just as good. Checked out the show times for Tag and good thing it is conveniently playing near me. I'll let you know. Thank you @jedau.

I had a turkey sub! But sadly I didn't make it from scratch. I was just so hungry!

I love spicy food and I love that you used flamin' hot cheetos and jalapenos, yum!

I'm all for spicy food as long as my taste buds are not shot after the first bite. Thanks @kotturinn.

This sounds so delicious, I love anything spicy, have not had those red Cheetos for absolute ages, so effective as a coating! Love everything you've got here, great weird sandwich!

Thank you for your kind comment @lizelle. I think I still prefer eating them straight out of a bag, but using them as a coating I am not stuck with stained fingers.

This is so fun and creative! I am particularly fond of the bacon jam...what a great idea, love the sweet and spicy together. Beautiful creation! Good luck!

Thanks so much @birdsinparadise. How is your grandson?

You are most welcome! My grandson is wonderful, thank you for asking! :) I am going to stay with them next week as my son-in-law will have to travel for a few days...lots of snuggle time :)

Snuggle times are the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64