Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #45- French Onion Soup Panini

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Today is Father's Day and my inspiration for this week's sandwich is based on my dad's favorite soup. Whenever we would go out for dinner, the first thing he would order even without opening the menu is a French onion soup. For @jaybird's sandwich contest, I made a panini based on my dad's beloved soup.

IMG_8819.jpg

I decided to make some truffled potato chips to accompany the sandwich. I thinly sliced some yukon potatoes and dropped them in some hot water to blanch for a few minutes. This will remove some of the starch and help the potatoes get really crispy. After the potatoes are out of the hot oil, I seasoned the chips with salt and truffle powder.

IMG_8821 (1).jpg

For the sandwich, instead of making a soup, I braised short ribs with three different types of onions.

IMG_8828.jpg

I seared the beef, added leeks and some thyme. After braising the meat for 3 hours, the caramelized onions and shallots were added. The onions were cooked along with the beef for another hour. The meat was so tender and flavorful

IMG_8822.jpg

For the sandwich I used a ciabatta roll because I wanted the holes in the bread to capture the juices from the chunks of beef. Then caramelized onions from the braise were added and the whole sandwich was topped off with shredded gruyere cheese. Since I did not have a panini press I made a make shift one by placing my sandwich on a cast iron pan and placing another heavy pot on top of the sandwich to press it while cooking it over low heat.

IMB_cUU112.GIF

One bite of this sandwich and the flavors reminded me of all the soups meals I shared with my dad. The beef was juicy, the caramelized onions added sweetness and the melted cheese some nuttiness. A new pairing which I like that is not part of the traditional soup is cayenne spiced cornichons. The pickles cut the richness of the sandwich and added a tiny bit of heat. I wish all dads a terrific day.

IMG_8813.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-17T21:55:06
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 179.35/200.00
Total Photos: 29
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love the blanching tip and will try it out. As for the sandwich meat! oh my oath. I have to replicate that. I know 8 people, myself included who wouldn't bat an eyelid in saying yes to this!! I wish I had your camera too :)

Thanks so much @intrepidsurfer. I'll trade you short rib sandwiches for surf lessons, haha.

Looks delicious @loveself!
Ill give the potato chips a try as well. have been wanting to try to make those for a while... Good luck in the contest!

Just cook the chips at a lower temperature than you normally will fry foods or they will burn. Nice to hear from you @cooknbake. How is the baby?

Now this looks delicious! Great photos btw, food photography is among the most difficult categories for me :)

Thank you @phortun. How long did you live at Playa del Carmen?

Some 13 months. Have you been there? :)

No, I am planning on a trip to Tulum in November. From your photos it looks beautiful!

Oh yeah, not just Tulum but the whole Mayan Riviera is amazing. I am sure you will enjoy your holiday there :)

Holy shit...

Epic Womenwich! Besides the braised beef with 3 types of onions (love it) those truffle chips sounds fantastic!

Great choice of flavour combos and the inspirational element was awesome!

Love the name @jaybird, lol. Thanks for your feedback!

Oh my word @loveself, everything looks absolutely delicious! I can just imagine all the oniony flavours in the meat which looks like it's falling apart plus those chips are to die for! What a great father's day sandwich this is, a lovely tribute to your father ;) Good luck!

My husband said it was like a grilled cheese with meat and onions, haha. Thank you @lizelle.

That sounds delish!

This sandwich looks amazing! I'm gonna have to try this out this weekend. Great tip on how to make a jury-rigged panini press. Great post, thanks for sharing. - @slowcookingchef

Thanks so much @slowcookingchef. I can't wait to see what you will be cooking up next.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62221.65
ETH 2424.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55