Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #38- Mushroom Veganwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

I've been seeing some amazing sandwiches from other Steemians. Although I don't often eat sandwiches but when I do, I enjoy them so much I always think why don't I eat them more often? Inspired by @jaybird's sandwich contest, and Korean fried chicken, I decided to make a sandwich for my meal. Instead of chicken, I decided to use portobello mushrooms and for my bread, I made some steamed Taiwanese buns.

IMG_7590.jpg

I chose to make the Taiwanese bunsbecause they are soft and fluffy and perfect for holding the big chunks of mushrooms soaked in a tangy and spicy sauce. I substituted the milk with almond milk to keep it vegan.

IMG_7566.jpg

For the filling, I chose to use portobello mushrooms because of their meaty texture. I wanted a crunchy crust on the mushrooms but at the same time I wanted a batter to hold the juices of the mushroom. I first dipped the mushroom quarters into a batter and then coated them in panko. Then they were deep fried.

IMG_7567 (1).jpg

The fried mushrooms were tossed in a gochujang sauce. Gochujang is a Korean chili paste that has been fermented. It's spicy, salty and slightly sweet. I added some rice vinegar, soy sauce and some brown rice syrup. Adding brown syrup will add some viscosity to the sauce and add an extra bit of sweetness.

IMG_7582.jpg

I made a quick radish pickle because I love pickles and I thought the acidity would help cut the richness of the fried mushrooms.

IMG_7583 (1).jpg

To assemble the sandwich I layered mushrooms, pickled radishes, shaved cabbage, carrots dressed with a touch of sesame oil, rice vinegar and salt and cilantro leaves.

IMG_7597 (2).jpg

Ingredients

  • portobello mushrooms
  • red cabbage
  • green cabbage
  • carrots
  • radishes
  • cilantro
  • flour
  • canola oil
  • yeast
  • baking powder
  • rice vinegar
  • sugar
  • panko
  • salt
  • gochujang
  • brown rice syrup
  • soy sauce
  • toasted sesame oil
    The sandwich was incredible! It had all the flavors of salty, sweet, spicy, tangy with the crunchy elements from the panko crumbs and cabbage slaw. Thank you @jaybird for creating this contest and for reminding me I should make more sandwiches.
Sort:  

Yup, the steam bun looks light and fluffy and love your idea of battering the mushroom I can really imagine the sauce cling to it. And again I also think putting pickles is excellent idea!!! One more thing, I love the addition of cabbage to, as I think it gives a fresh crunch. Overall all the ingredients work well together. Great job @loveself...

All of your food is super creative. I can tell you place a lot of thought into creating your dishes. Thanks so much @alansthoughs for your comment!

You yourself have very interesting dish too, I hope to see you more often in #steemitsandwichcontest

Great addition to the SSC! We had our first entry last week and we'll see if we can get one in for this week later today. Good to see a vegan option (we're not vegans, but have been trying our luck at eating more vegan foods) 😊

Thank you @travelling-two and which is your favorite tier at the Erawan Falls?

Oooo....that is a difficult question. We loved them all, okay, maybe not so much the first two tiers as they get busy. For us, it has to be Tier 4 for the natural waterslides, but it is satisfying getting to the 7th tier and lounging around there. We found a cool spot to hang out between Tier 6 and 7. So, that is our ultimate favorite spot. We're guessing you have been to? What is yours?

that's a nice combo... mouth watering

Thank you @monodoshawan. I would like to try your seaweed sandwich!

The sauce, the bun the look. Oh wow My stomach is gurgling like crazy!!! This is a great piece!

Thank you @carolynstahl. I really like how you grilled the baba ganoush wrap.

Oh yes! Very cool creation!

Welcome to SSC!

Steamed Taiwanese buns sound pretty delicious and practical haha. Also, nice job withe mushrooms and substitutions (Almond Milk etc) to keep it true to your preferences. Really nice pres/colours and overall entry :)

Thank you @jaybird and thanks for inspiring me to make the Taiwanese buns. I know my husband thanks you too because they are his favorite!

Your Mushroom Veganwich looks divine, would love to try making those steam buns! Good luck with the contest @loveself :)

Thanks @lizelle. I sure wish I could taste one of your creations! Everything looks so good!

Woww that looks so amazing! Literally restaurant grade food at home. Would love to try making that too, but unfortunately I'm terrified of battering and frying things at home. I just find it so daunting and scary (and seeing all that oil freaks me out, I like to live in blissful ignorance 😂)

Maybe one day I'll have to brave my fears and try it out though. Could murder these right now!

Thanks so much @buttpacker. I was the same way when it came to deep frying but I bought myself a thermometer to measure the temperature of the oil and slowly I overcame my fear.

Ooohhh, really? How does the thermometer help? Just by knowing if the temperature is right to fry to perfection? I guess maybe that's why I sometimes fail, but it's still daunting to see all that oil. Not to mention the risk of burning yourself with the hot oil! Eeek!

I have failed many times. I usually use a smaller pot so I don't have to deal with all the oil. Also standing back helps!

Ooooo I like the idea of a smaller pot! Noted! Thanks for that ;)

Love your sandwich. Every ingredient appeals to me and I think the combination here is perfect for a nice sandwich-eating experience. And gochujang ... love that stuff!

Will keep the recipe for the steamed buns in mind. I’m hit or miss with those buns so it’s nice to have a recommended one from someone who knows what a good recipe is. Thank you!

It's always so nice to hear from you @offoodanart. Gochujang can be the new sriracha. I have tried many different steamed bun recipes and this one is simple and fluffy. I sure will be making them again.

Yummy for sure. Love it.

Thank you @joeyarnoldvn. Where is your favorite place in Vietnam?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60643.63
ETH 2401.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61