SteemitSandwichContest Week #41 - Potato & Emmental Pancake Veg Ciabatta Sandwich

Another week gone by and were the entries hot for the start of the SSC naughty forties!

Enter this contest at your own risk, as Sandwiches have become my new addiction.
I nowadays find myself constantly thinking of what sandwich to make next, so here goes for Week #41 of @jaybird's fabulous SteemitSandwichContest.

This week I'm making a delicious Potato & Emmental Pancake Veg Ciabatta Sandwich.
IMG_20180516_184007.jpg

So why no meat this week?
Well, when I was a working gal, there used to be a little takeout close to my office that made the most divine Vegetarian Burgers and I've been longing for that!
My version is quite close to that, but whereas that burger was topped with potato crisps, mine has a crispy Potato & Emmental Pancake base, absolutely delicious, definitely going to make that again and eat it all by myself!

Ingredients required:

  • Freshly baked Garlic Ciabatta
  • Butter
  • Potato
  • Onion
  • Emmental Cheese
  • Parsley
  • Eggplant or as some call it Brinjal and others Aubergine
  • Brown Mushrooms

The star of the show was first on the menu, and really so easy to make - Potato & Emmental Pancake
All it took was one grated Potato, grated Onion & a handful of grated Emmental Cheese.
Squeeze any excess liquid out of the potato & onion, mine was quite a dry potato so did not require this.
After seasoning it to taste, I placed it in a hot non stick pan with a tiny bit of butter & oil. I shaped & prodded it till it held together nicely.
IMG_20180516_175347.jpg

When the edges started crisping and the underside was a nice brown, I carefully turned it like one would with a regular pancake; I was tempted to toss it into the air but did not want to tempt fate, no time to play around today.
Somehow the whole world wanted to book at our bnb today, so that was great, really am thankful, but my poor sandwich went from a breakfast sandwich to a dinner starter - ok, Papa Bear, Granny Bear & I all shared so don't start getting ideas of me gorging myself before dinner!
IMG_20180516_175649.jpg

Gorgeous crispy Potato Pancake with cheese oozing here and there!

Eggplant slices were fried in a little butter, as were the Mushrooms & Onion Rings.

Garlic Ciabatta was halved and lightly toasted in the same pan & we were ready to roll, but not until hubby helped me with my stencilled SSC cheese slices.

This reminded me of the days when I was a learner draughtswoman and everything had to be done by hand. Yes, I'm sure many of you cannot imagine working without a computer, but we had to do all our drawings by hand and use antiquated tools like stencils, scales and ink pens to name a few!
There I go again, giving my age away :):)
IMG_20180516_175939.jpg

Back to our sandwich - lightly toasted Garlic Ciabatta bread waiting to be covered in all things nice and good.
IMG_20180516_181841.jpg

The lovely crispy brown Potato pancake gets the honour of being the first one to lay down on this lovely bread:)
IMG_20180516_182025.jpg

Next in line is the gorgeous Eggplant.
IMG_20180516_182111.jpg

The gorgeous mild flavour of grated Emmental goes on to compliment the Eggplant.
IMG_20180516_182157_1.jpg

The complex flavours of brown Mushrooms gets added to the mix.
IMG_20180516_182241_1.jpg

Lastly the Onion get the honour of showing off its perfect rings by landing on top of all this.
IMG_20180516_182334.jpg

Sealed with a kiss...I meant the other half Ciabatta bread...
IMG_20180516_182453.jpg

Topped with slices of cheese cutouts.
IMG_20180516_183703.jpg

Sliced into three, revealing the gorgeous filling.
IMG_20180516_183931.jpg

My hand model hubby dying to dive into this sandwich.
IMG_20180516_184117_1.jpg

A quick look at the whole process for all us busy bodies.
IMG_20180516_175347-ANIMATION.gif

Hope to see your sandwich on #steemitsandwichcontest next time :)


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by, please comment, upvote and resteem if you enjoyed my post.
All images property of @lizelle
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Bravo! Just Bravo! Well done. You have my vote!

Ah thank you so very much @tesscooks4u, so nice seeing you again:)

yummy yummy

Thanks for stopping by @leemeili :)

GG.jpeg

Thank you so much @geekgirl :)

Mmmm so yummy. love to try that . looks so awesome @lizelle.

Thank you @artywink, but I really want to see a nice South African sandwich from you...please...

hahaha, that SSC is fantastic! Thank you for that!

Beautiful Creation here. Love the potato adds and loads of onions/Mushrooms. I feel like a bunch of you SSC'ers are conspiring to use similar ingredients in order to see who the real champion is this week :)

Emmental Pancake sound & looks delicious. Wasn't quite sure what that was at first.

Great job!

Haha @jaybird, must say it's all my favourite ingredients, perhaps we're all unwittingly trying to outwit each other using the same ingredients, but boy oh boy, it's getting harder each week with all the amazing talent you're attracting to SSC!
That Emmental potato pancake is super easy & super delicious, definitely making that again!
& I just had to do that cheesy SSC, could not resist it once the thought came into my head ;)
Has @steemit-foodie had her little bambino? Was looking forward to hearing her comments.

Looks yum indeed.

My handmodel hubby

Lol.

Mmmmm it was @therneau, the hand model approved as did granny Bear, you must try that potato pancake, so simple but siper delicious!

emmental that I like, I liked the way you used the cheese to make the letters SSC delicious, this competition is burning, I spend like you all week thinking about preparing each week, Greetings friend @lizelle

Hey @yesslife, I saw you used Emnental before, it's such a nice cheese! Yep, who would have thought sandwiches could be so exciting hey ;)
You keep well my friend :)

Hello, how are you all at home? send my greetings and hugs @lizelle

Now your sandwich is very good I love the originality that you have for the sandwiches besides they look very delicious you know it, I love your food

Ah thanks Jenni, so nice seeing you, we're all doing well, starting to get a little chilly here :)
That potato pancake really made this sandwich, was delicious!

Great addition to the Steemit Sandwich contest - love the decoration and the fact this is a vegetarian sandwich. Looks delicious and we bet it tasted that way. 😊

Thank you @travelling-two, it was delicious indeed!

That potato and cheese pancake looked so d**n delicious! I could never make the sandwich, because I would stop there and eat it.

Now, I feel very hungry.

Well done and thank you for an idea!

You're right @mmo-mmo, I will be doing the same next time, just eat that potato pancake, really was the star of the show! Thanks for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34