SteemitSandwichContest Week#41 - Boerewors Roll

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Which carnivore would not enjoy a juicy flavourful giant barbequed Sausage housed inside a crispy spongy Cheese Roll with lashings of a delicious special homemade Sauce?

I guarantee if said sausage happens to be a man-sized South African favourite called Boerewors filled with a delicious spice blend and cooked on a barbeque - or as we call it in South Africa, a Braai - then stuffed into a giant homemade Cheese Roll with a Mushroom, Tomato & Onion sauce, you will have to sit down and won't be able to stop until there’s nothing left but your cheeks glistening from the saucy delights!

Boerewors is as South African as you can get - direct translation - Farmer’s Sausage, and is affectionately known as a Boerie.
A favourite of course is the Boerewors or Boerie Roll which is popular at sport events, farmer’s markets and fetes to name but a few; a great fund raiser here in South Africa for charities and sport clubs plus other worthy causes.

My second entry - Boerewors Roll

IMG_20180519_185216.jpg

The enthusiasm for Boerewors is so great here in South Africa that we even have an annual National Championship Boerewors Competition, sponsored by a large supermarket chain; chefs competing for a big prize with their own secret recipes that they will not share with anyone!

Boerewors hails from our pioneering forebears; a mixture of mainly minced beef with added pork or lamb, little cubes of pork fat; spiced with coriander, cloves and nutmeg, all freely available in what was known as the Cape Colony (now the Western Cape); and vinegar added as a preservative. This spicy mixture was then stuffed into large casings, and if the pioneering folk were on the move, they could hang the Boerewors to air-dry, thus preserving the meat longer. It then becomes a dried sausage or as we call it - Dried Wors.

Ingredients

IMG_20180519_171440.jpg

I could have bought bread rolls from the bakery, but wanted to make my own, stuffed with garlic butter and topped with cheese, so I bought dough from the supermarket bakery as it was getting rather late in the day to still knead my own.

A piece of dough was flattened, butter grated and crushed garlic added on top.
IMG_20180519_172402.jpg

Dough was rolled up and edges sealed tightly, and left to rise.
IMG_20180519_172444.jpg

Topped with a generous helping of finely grated strong Cheddar Cheese.
The large roll was papa Bear's, granny & mama Bear would never manage to finish such a man sized roll!
IMG_20180519_174127.jpg

Baked till nicely risen and golden brown in a 170 C fan oven.
IMG_20180519_180027.jpg

While all this was happening, hubby was given the task that's always the man's job; cooking the Boerewors on the Braai or Barbeque outside.

So I'll show off again by telling those who do not know it, that we have gorgeous sunny skies all year round here in South Africa, so even though we're at the start of winter, we can still braai outdoors, and even in the midst of winter ;)
20180519_181653.jpg

My job was not complete as I still had to make the Mushroom, Tomato & Onion gravy.
Sliced Onions & Mushrooms were sauteed in a blob of Butter & a dash of Olive Oil.
IMG_20180519_192551.jpg

Diced Tomatoes were added, seasoned to taste and cooked slowly till done.
IMG_20180519_194126.jpg

Bread Roll was halved and filled with the Boerewors and lashings of the delicious sauce.
IMG_20180519_194442.jpg

As usual my hand model hubby was only too willing to pose as he got to take the first bite.
A Boerie roll is not complete without a Beer in the other hand :)
20180519_185633.jpg

A quick look-see for us busy bodies!
20180519_205306-ANIMATION.gif

So guys and dolls, I've said it before & I'm saying it again; if you enjoy meeting awesome people, making amazing sandwiches plus fancy the chance of winning SBD as an added bonus, head on over to the manwich maker @jaybird's SteemitSandwichContest and read his Post.


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by; comments, upvotes and resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

My god those pictures have my mouth watering! The fresh cooked cheesy bread is really the kicker for me :) I really wish I could reach through my computer and grab one. LoL. I think you should definitely win that sandwich contest!

Haha @moderndayhippie, wish I could deliver a cheezy boerewors roll to you ;) You should see some of those sandwiches then you'll think again, some awesome creations there! Thank you for your great comment!

Hey @lizelle, I am a curator of the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 21st May. Your post will be awarded a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Here is a link to a post explaining things: https://steemit.com/competition/@nikflossus/the-28th-whaleshares-curation-show-with-another-fascinating-guest-thatsweeneyguy

Hive Bee trail comment.jpg Vote

Hey @breezin, thank you so very much, I'm really honoured that you've selected my sandwich post! Just sad I will not be able to listen in as I'll be in dreamland on the other side of the world. But a huge thank you to you and all the curators of whaleshares for the encouragement, much appreciated :):)

This hit me right in the square in the face, if this doesn't win that competition than there is no justice around this place. The roll alone is a meal by itself, without the sausage.
Here I always get the "hot Italian" sausage and grill it, it is real spicy and real good. Plus no else in the family likes it because it is too hot and spicy, which means I get to eat the whole package of 5.
Greedy?, yea you could say that, but I have been called worse things and I don't let it bother me when it comes to food.
Good luck with contest.

Haha mr Papper, that hot Italian sausage sounds great, I love hot and spicy food! Our boerewors on the other hand is spicy but not hot, strong tones of coriander, cloves & nutmeg.
If you like spicy you would love what we call a Bunny Chow (that got me a first prize in SSC a while back). It's a hollowed out half loaf bread stuffed with a spicy hot Durban curry, yep we're known as the kings of curry in South Africa:) Will see if I can find that pic.
Thanks for the good luck wishes :)

IMG-20180120-WA0010-384x512.jpg

No offense Lizelle, I like the looks of that sausage better, this looks to fancy for me. It may taste great but I wouldn't even begin to know how to eat this. But thanks for making the effort to share it, and congrats on winning with it. now I have got to get some sleep, have to be up in 5 hours. Night.

Haha mr Papper, you eat bunny chow with your hands, break off a piece of bread and scoop some curry up with it, quite messy, not fancy at all :):)
Sleep tight, the whole week awaits ;)

That looks so good @lizelle is a braai the same as a bbq or is it different, @princessmewmew was talking about this in @ma1nevent's radio show the other week, they sound amazing and very popular in south africa??

A braai is like a national pastime here in South Africa, super popular and exactly the same as a barbeque. We use charcoal or wood to make the fire, some also use gas 'braais'. As we have great weather, we're able to braai right through the year, very fortunate! It's supposed to be the woman of the house's night off from cooking as the menfolk braai the meat but the women make the salads or veggie bakes that go with the meat. Nothing like smoky braaied (BBQ) ribs, steak or lamb chops hey ;)
Thanks for stopping by @crazybgadventure :)

That is some cheesy goodness plus the onion, mushroom and tomato condiment is pure perfection. Nice one @lizelle.

It's an old favourite here @loveself, always nice seeing you :)

Omg @lizelle what an awesome creation.Not just the sausage but the cheesey garlicy roll.yep defo would eat the whole lot( oh n ask for more).👍💛

Oh it certainly is delicious @pamcooks, not sure if you'll manage to eat more than one of those giant boerie rolls though, thanks for stopping by :)

Any event in South Africa is a good place to find someone making boerewors rolls, homemade makes it all the better in taste. Smell wafting from fires with wors (sausage) being cooked works up an appetite in no time at all. Well done with your presentation of this national dish @lizelle

Nothong like the smell of a braai and the taste of a good boerewors hey @joanstewart, proudly South African always!

Oh my @lizelle, this is a beast! I love it. The cheezy bread is to die for. I love cheezy bread. Definitely a man sized Braa right? Well done! Love this contest! Best wishes to you as always1

Oh it was delicious with that cheesy garlicy breadroll & smoky sausage. So nice seeing you again @birdsinparadise :)

These are really great, we have pretty much the same ones here in Belgium. Great for on the BBQ and I always eat them whenever I go to a music festival.

Oh nice to hear that @daan, nothing beats the taste of meat cooked on a smoky barbeque! Thanks for stopping by :)

At my favorite brewery they have bathtubs full of Witbier that they let me bathe in. I'd love a spa day of bathing in beer while enjoying this food.

Haha @beercraft, I can just imagine that would be awesome in summer ;);) Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87