Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 90 - Swiss Chard & Paneer Kati RollssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitsandwichcontest5 years ago (edited)

Only ten away from the big ONE HUNDRED, wow, that's an amazing feat @jaybird, we're into Week #90 already! Keeping this contest going through thick and thin and that with the humble sandwich! Although the sandwiches our Steemians bring to this table are not humble by any means!

This week after watching a BBC Food program, I was inspired to make a typical Indian street-food, Swiss Chard & Paneer Kati Rolls, a first for me I must add.

IMG_20190428_160309_1.jpg

The verdict; a simple but delicious Vegetarian Sandwich that will keep you going for a good couple of hours, it was very quick to make and more than satisfying.

This version uses Tortillas which are dipped in garlicky beaten eggs and then fried till crispy and golden delicious on both sides and filled with creamy Swiss Chard and fried Paneer. As I like extra spice, I served them with a spicy hot Tomato ketchup.

IMG_20190428_160242.jpg

So as this is street-food and the customers are waiting, let's get straight to making the Kati Rolls!

INGREDIENTS

  • Tortillas
  • 2 Eggs
  • Garlic Salt
  • 300 gram Swiss Chard
  • 150 ml Water
  • 5 ml Cumin Seeds
  • Fresh Chili diced
  • 1 clove Garlic crushed
  • 250 gram Paneer cut into 1cm cubes
  • Olive Oil

IMG_20190428_143641.jpg

Blend Swiss Chard with the water
Fry Paneer cubes in a little oil till golden brown, remove from pan
Sautee Garlic, Cumin and chili in the same pan, adding a little oil
Add Swiss Chard pulp and cook till most of the liquid has evaporated
Add Paneer and stir together

IMG_20190428_145036-COLLAGE.jpg

IMG_20190428_150305-COLLAGE.jpg

IMG_20190428_150908-COLLAGE.jpg

IMG_20190428_152242.jpg

Now it's time to get the Tortillas all crispy and golden brown.
Beat eggs with garlic salt, dip both sides of Tortillas in the egg mixture
Fry till golden brown on both sides in a little Olive Oil, pan must be quite hot
Place filling down centre, fold to seal the Kati Roll & cut in half to serve

IMG_20190428_153645-COLLAGE.jpg

IMG_20190428_154100-COLLAGE.jpg

IMG_20190428_160226.jpg

A quick look as always for all our busy people.
IMG_20190428_143641-ANIMATION.gif

Hope you enjoyed my sandwich this week guys and dolls! And as I've said before & I'm saying it again; if you enjoy meeting awesome people, making amazing sandwiches plus fancy the chance of winning Steem as an added bonus, head on over to the Manwich maker @jaybird's SteemitSandwichContest, now into Week #90 and read his Post.
A massive thanks to the sponsors this week @doitvoluntarily and @llfarms for their generosity.

Qurator lizelle.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

This looks so tasty @lizelle, love the wrap, just bursting with healthy flavors. Perfect portable sandwich for a Sunday afternoon! I'm sure this was a hit at the Inn today :)

LOL all the Inn guests were self-catering this weekend so I had some much needed time out my friend! But passed some of these on to my neighbours who love being my taste testers when it's non Keto ;)
Thank you for your kind comments and wonderful support Mrs Bird!

Hi lizelle,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks for supporting #steemitsandwichcontest participants!

Gosh this was such a lovely surprise, thank you so very much @curie, you are awesome!

Wow.. your talent knows no bounds!

You're too kind @jaybird, I learn a lot from granny Google and her helpers :)

Nice, looks very interesting, I think I could try make something very similar, thanks for the share, giving me some good idea 💡

I'm sure you'll come up with something amazing @gguy773!

Wow! Lady Lizelle, why do I always reply to your posts with a Wow!?
Simply because your stuff is all finger licking good.
Great thing about this one is that one can also use different ingredients for the filling.
Blessings!

Thank you so much @papilloncharity! I would definitely add some chutney to the filling next time though. Blessings to you as well!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 468

Really appreciate your wonderful support @thesteemengine, so blessed that you're still steeming on!

Simply amazed at how many different sandwich ideas you have shared, planned, photographed and set up, you are definitely a sandwich star Lizelle.

Ah thank you @joanstewart, I get a lot of help from my friend Granny Google, loads of inspiration there ;)

hi @lizelle
I love the sandwich you prepared, very original, but with excellent ingredients! But above all I like all the presentation you made, your description and the really inviting photos !! do you work for food advertising?
Congratulations and thank you for sharing with us

Gosh that's a big compliment, thank you @roads2horizon! I just love food prep and blogging about it, still have a lot of work on fine tuning my plating and setting up for photo shoots, Steemit Sandwich Contest has been my learning platform!

really compliments, I thought you were an expert in the field! Continue like this :-D

Thank you so much for the encouragement and the wonderful sponsorship @doitvoluntarily!

keep up those delicious entries! :)

Hello @lizelle, how nice to see your post appreciated by curie! Your sandwich looks great and actually made me hungry 😀 I'm going to try it out because I believe it's something that I would like very much. Thank you for the recipe, I'm bookmarking it for the future to have it. Keep up the good work, have a nice weekend and steem on! 🤗

Thank you so much @erikah, appreciate your feedback!

My pleasure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66650.28
ETH 3590.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.96