Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #57 - Twinkie Wiener Sandwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Back in 1989 the movie UHF did not do well at the box office but later on became quite a cult movie as it's actually very funny!

Weird Al Yankovic created or rather concocted a real junk food sandwich that I would not recommend for the kids' lunchboxes!

Twinkies is called Tinkies here in South Africa, probably a trade mark issue, who knows - a super spongy sugar-coated little cake with a mock cream filling; real nice and real tasty but for sure not what I would call real food!

Add to that a highly processed Chicken Vienna Sausage and top it off with processed Cheese, and you have a Twinkie Wiener Sandwich!
I thought yuk when I first saw it but then thought about just how well sweet & savoury combos actually are and tried it.

The verdict - it tasted surprisingly good but I would definitely not recommend it as part of a healthy well-balanced diet ;)

IMG_20180910_185651.jpg

In a clip from the movie Weird Al tried his best to get Bob to have a bite, but he would have none of it and said - 'You've ruined my life!'

Al dunks his Twinkie Wiener Sandwich in milk - so do not forget that - at least you'll be getting some nourishment!

IMG_20180910_185853.jpg
Why is it that junk food tastes so good?

INGREDIENTS

  • Twinkies
  • Viennas
  • Processed Cheese in a squeezy tube

IMG_20180910_163838.jpg
Highly processed sandwich ingredients

IMG_20180910_185432.jpg
Light & fluffy & everlasting Twinkie

IMG_20180910_185509.jpg
Cut open to reveal the mock cream centre

IMG_20180910_185527.jpg
Highly processed Vienna shamefully hiding inside Twinkie

IMG_20180910_185651.jpg
Processed cheese as garnish

IMG_20180910_185733.jpg
Don't forget the glass of milk for dunking

And as always a quick look for the busy bodies:
IMG_20180910_163838-ANIMATION.gif

Thank you @jaybird for the theme of Week #57 - Famous Sandwiches - I had fun researching this as it brought back many memories, but in the end I settled for the easiest sandwich yet!

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Actually, I'm not sure which sounds worse, the sandwich or the movie.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Oh no, my feelings are hurt now... hahaha @catweasel, the movie & Twinkie Wiener both are really weird :):)
Thank you for your support!

I am not sure what to think of this sandwich...First, Twinkies are so full of preservatives they will last forever! Then we have weiners or Vienna sausage, the greener Weiner and then topped with fake cheese! I can't think of anything more disgusting to eat, but yey so sinfully tasty! It's got to be the milk, right?

Haha this definitely will not be made by me again, hubby liked it though :):)
Thanks for your support!

FOR TSE: I'm sorry, but this sounds simply disgusting. If you say it's not bad, I'll just take your word for it. Yuk!!

Oh my word @enchantedspirit, I'm still laughing! That was my exact reaction but somehow I kept on being drawn back to this sandwich! Hubby really enjoyed it believe it or not...I had an eighth of a piece & really really did not taste bad but the thought of it put me off :):)

All kinds of wrong, no thanks I don't thinks I could get either in my mouth, let alone the two together @lizelle

Hahaha @joanstewart, I thought so too when I saw the combo but hubby loved it, I'm not a vienna fan, but had a tiny piece & actually did not taste bad...but Tinkies also not on my shopping list, so artificial and full of preservatives etc. Had great fun though :):)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 255 (9/12/18)

Thank you @thesteemengine, I hope you at least tried having a little bite of this weird sandwich :)

Well this is amazing and hilarious 😂!

Locw that u picked this out from a weird Al movie haha. It’s pretty genius. The sweet and sour plus cheese combo haha oh man, i can actually see that being good!

Thanks for this! What a grest entry :)

Thank you @jaybird, I found lots of famous sandwiches in my search but somehow the thought of having an excuse to buy a Tinkie drew me back to this one :)

I will give you my upvote for the effort, not because this one looks especially tasty. I don't think I could bring myself to eat one of those. I get shivers down my spine when I think about that.

Seems like Twinkies have been featured in a number of movies...one of my better ones is the post-apocalyptic horror comedy "Zombieland" starring Woody Harrelson. Quite a cult movie too!

Haha @gholsa, I reluctantly had one eighth of this sandwich, did not taste bad at all but much prefer a plain Twinkie;);) Hubby loves viennas and he enjoyed this, believe it or not!
Interesting about it being featured in Zombieland, thanks for that little tidbit & the support!

Omw, where do you dig this stuff up? A twinkie dog! Never have I ever, lol. I suppose you should stick with the vanilla cream flavour, huh.

I might give it a try but dunking it in milk... brave hand model ;)

Hahaha @therneau, granny Google is full of wisdom ;) I had so much fun in my search; if uncle Rulov was still alive he would have given me tons of ideas, he had such in depth knowledge of movies and stage plays :(
Guess what, I bought strawberry & chocolate flavour, nearly used one of those ;)

@lizelle no twinkies here and no tinkies here and I don't think I will find the seed to grow them Lol. How do I remember the quick fix hippie days. Us guys sharing a room with a gas burner and a pan that we used in the room to make scrambled eggs and Vienna's. All three of us ate out of the pan. Sadly no more quick fixes now. Bessings!

Haha @pappilloncharity...as the old song goes:
Those were the days my friend, We thought they'd never end...
Those Tinkies really are a guilty pleasure, sorry you can't get any seed for it hey :):)
Thanks for your support!
Blessings to you as well :)

Holy Hell Lizelle !!!!, two days in a row you hit a home run with me. I have had these myself, less the mustard.

Haha mr Papper, somehow I'm not surprised!
That's cheese spread there ;)
Thank you so much for your support :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64158.52
ETH 3293.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.46