Steemit Sandwich Contest #62 - Cheese Sandwich Jewels

Sandwiches boring? I thought so, but have been proved wrong right here on Steemit Sandwich Contest. We're into Week #62 already, thanks to the generosity of @jaybird and other occasional sponsors.
We'd love to see what sandwiches you make wherever you live in the world, so take some pics while you're at it, check out @jaybird's Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #62 and show us your sandwiches.

Life's still a little upside down here in my little bnb with guests coming and going and needing breakfasts, packed lunches and dinners.
Monday came and I still had not made my weekly sandwich; the leftover roast chicken I intended using disappeared while I went out to the shops, as hubby got a tad peckish!
I really was pressed for time so grabbed the bottle of Cheddar Cheese Spread, Food colouring, Brown Bread and Cookie Cutters as I've been keen to try out a new sandwich trend I saw in a magazine, with a little twist though.
This really is just a plain cheese spread open sandwich, so nothing to rave about, but it really looked so cool and something anyone can make if they feel like painting with food!

IMG_20181015_163232_1.jpg

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 slices Brown Bread
  • Cheddar Cheese Spread
  • Food colouring - I used red, green and a mixture of these two colours
  • Silver cake baubles
  • Wooden skewer for painting
  • Cookie cutters

IMG_20181015_160808.jpg

1. Divide cheese spread into three bowls

2. Add a couple of drops of food colouring to each bowl - red, green and the last bowl a mixture of these two, mix well
IMG_20181015_161039.jpg

IMG_20181015_161212.jpg

3. Cut out bread shapes
IMG_20181015_163836.jpg

4. Leave cookie cutters in position and spread cheese spread in a pattern on top of bread
IMG_20181015_161804.jpg

5. Using the tip of a wooden skewer, draw patterns through cheese spread
IMG_20181015_161930.jpg

6. Carefully remove cookie cutters
IMG_20181015_162850.jpg

7. Garnish with silver baubles if you wish, or leave them plain
IMG_20181015_165121.jpg

IMG_20181015_165127.jpg

IMG_20181015_164141.jpg

And as always a quick look at the sandwich making.
IMG_20181015_160808-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 283 (10/16/18)

Thank you @thesteemengine, really appreciate your support!

Haha. super cool. Very artsy fartsy :)

It looks way more complex than it is. At first glance I thought wtf is going on here lol...

Kind of reminds me of X-mas. Maybe there's another idea in this for the holidays?

All in all very creative, I've never seen any sandwich like this!

Haha @jaybird, it was really great seeing the painting emerge when I was drawing through the cheese spread, thanks for your lovely comments:)
I agree it looks almost Christmas'y or rather kind if Halloween'y with those weird colours :):)

@lizelle, This will blow children away. We could call them space cookies and we can lay the space cookies on a bed of broccoli and cream. Disguised goodness?

Oh you are so right @papilloncharity, it's the perfect bake-day project for kids, I felt like a kid myself when those patterns emerged ;);)

She says...

so nothing to rave about

I beg to differ!
These are fabulous!!!!

Ah you're so kind @goldendawne, it was such a delight drawing the wooden skewer through the cheese spread and seeing the crazy patterns, looked really cool but tasted very plain ;);)

No way, I don't believe it!! That can't possibly be a sandwich!!!
It's amazing... and weird at the same time, and plays tricks on the mind and eyes it seems like. In a way the pics sometimes look like it's wet paint mixed together, hardened...! Very interesting.. thanks for sharing!

LOL it does look like wet paint hey! I thought afterwards I should have used powder food colouring but then it may not have had the same effect as the liquid food colouring gave it a kind of sheen.
Oh it was fun for sure seeing the patterns emerge ;)

Hello friend, you really wore beautiful colors and a very creative way to present a sandwich, I congratulate your great ingenuity to present in this contest, greetings and again, beautiful presentation friend @lizelle

Ah thank you @perlanacarada, nice to see you again :)

OMG! That is too cool! When I first saw the picture I thought jello? Then I read it was a cheese sandwich and my mind was completely blown away. Only you, @lizelle can make a cheese sandwich look like a work of art.

LOL @loveself, it was a lovely surprise for me as well, did not think it could look so cool! Tasted very plain though ;)

Its really different 😍😍

Thank you:)

Very decorative cheese sandwich. Great designs @lizelle :)

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback @rosatravels, it was quite a surprise for me as well, first time I tried it :)

WOW how creative and cool:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56