Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #24. Old Man Of The Sea.

old.jpg

The best spice in life is adventure. It doesn't matter what you have to eat, if it is on top of a mountain, thirty miles into a hike or stopping while biking across the country, whatever you consume tastes good. It is infused with fun, adventure, exploration and life. This sandwich is served with a story, one that defiantly makes it taste better.

Allow me to introduce you to the Old Man Of The Sea.

This is a sandwich that needs context to appreciate, its history to complete the flavor.

This story starts on a tiny boat in the middle of the water in Newport harbor California. I was living and working in the bay, my home a 27 foot Catalina sailboat, my roommate my cat.

IMG_1136.jpg

We dreamed of moving offshore to a tiny, magical island that had the same name as the make of my boat. Santa Catalina Island. I worked on getting a job out there with harbor patrol. I finally did and at the same upgraded my boat, the fates had aligned.

DSC_0282.jpg

So we sailed out there to start a new life.

DSC_0245.jpg

I was stationed out on the rural side of the island. One tiny town that had a small convenience store, a small restaurant and a campground. That was it. Around 40 people lived their year around. Each week the food was delivered by a little yellow barge, it would beach itself and unload our supplies then pull away and moor on the other side of the island after rounding the west end.

The food you had access to was extremely limited. Think if you could only shop at a gas station or amazon. So everyone quickly became creative with the food we had.

I started to notice that the people who had lived there a long time knew about secret items the restaurant served. The guys in harbor patrol ordered bagels with cream cheese, pickles and tomatoes. I thought it sounded so gross.

I tried it and it was strangely good, the setting spice defiantly helped.

This weeks entry is the sandwich of the people of the sea, I hope you like it.

old_1.jpg

next_old.jpg

20180116_145236.jpg

This sandwiches taste brings me right back to that bay on my magical little island. Thanks for reading my blog, hope you enjoyed this entry.

Big Love.

Ren.

Sort:  

It looks good, but I can't help but think it would be better with a good chunk of fish on it. Even a salt cured one.

Awesome entry, beautiful adventure. I had to look up the island, what a different world on LA's doorstep. Looks like the beaches are beautiful.

You know I bet that would make it way better! The pickles do remind me of capers, fish is the missing ingredient!

Catalina island is awesome, it is crazy how wild it is being so close to LA. The beaches are not only beautiful, they have gemstones. Thanks for checking out my entry @beatpoet.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

haha beatpoet. I second that fish statement!

She took a Kerouac at it, it's no Ginsburn. I Pounded that pun in Plath.

If only there was some place to find fish on the island😂

I'd eat this for sure lol. I love bagels and Cream Cheese. Never done it with the pickles before tho! I;ve done Cucumbers and Tomatoes, however things got sloppy haha.

Nice entry. I feel like i just learned so much about you. You're more than just a "quail-head" hehehehe j/k.

Great shot of you driving the boat with the owl t-shirt btw. I'm guessing that the cat took that photo... ;)

Thanks jaybird! I am pretty new to growing my own food and quail raising. I was living and working on the water for 7 years, was a traveling artist for a few years, tattooist, lived in the woods for awhile off wild edibles. I always forget people on steemit don't know my lifestyle :) It was fun sharing a pirate Ren story.

What an adventurer u r. I actually did know about your wild edibles month (i think it was) you mentioned that to me i'm pretty sure.

I love the adventure shown in this post. What a dream.

Thank you! I am glad you enjoyed the story.

The first paragraph is more than 100% true :)
I also enjoy strange combination like that you used for the sandwich, in my case out of laziness not necessity :D
I think I said it before but these posts about your pasts adventures are super awesome to read. You should write them more often.

Thanks for the feed back Adrian, I will try to incorporate more past adventure stories in my blog. Hope you are well!

I'm doing pretty well, but kind of miss you guys posting more often :)

Pirate Ren, I love your story and now I NEED to try that sandwich!!
Bear Hugs and Big Love!! x0x0x

Thanks @paradise-found! Hope you are having a wonderful day, Bear hugs and Big Love!

I love bagels, actually had one today with cream cheese too! That looks so delicious, I want to eat it :)

Bagels are awesome! Thanks for checking out my post.

Beauty in simplicity. a+ sandwich

Thank you! I love simple recipes, they always taste fresh and clean. Have a wonderful day.

Mouthwatering recipe.. Many thanks for sharing.

Hope you try it, have a great day.

The sandwich looks yummy! Seems like your cat is enjoying the holiday :)
Nice photos, thank you for sharing :)

My cat loved living on the water. Thanks for looking!

I'd really love to make one of those, it's beautiful

Make one! Have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82