Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 22. "Ode To Cauliflower, Vegan Queen"

Ode_To_Cauliflower_Vegan_Queen.jpg

This is my first time entering in @jaybird contest steemit sandwich contest.

This weeks theme "Vegan Style" made me think of one thing.

Cauliflower.

Cauliflower is queen is vegan cuisine and in her honor I will make a sandwich out of her flower and leaves! She is one of my garden champions this winter.

To_start_pick_cauliflower_from_the_garden.jpg

Then it is time to make the sauce, I think dry sandwiches are unnecessary and gross.

Start_with_almonds_walnuts_and_garlic_in_food_processor.jpg

On_planet_Kashyyyk.we_roast_both_the_cauliflower_and_leaves.jpg

Great Idea Chewbacca! We will roast the cauliflower and the surrounding leaves. To fill our sandwich with super green nutrition!

To roast the cauliflower chop it up into small pieces and then chop up the surrounding leaves. Toss in oil ( I used avocado oil, my new favorite) and sprinkle salt. Cook on high until the greens are crispy and the cauliflower browned.

Then it is time to put the sandwich together.

And what sandwich is complete without chips??!!

So as much as I could fit into my pans I roasted as a side of green chips. They where so good, light, crispy, and wonderful flavor. Yum!

Untitled_design.jpg

The happy homestead ducks got the rest of the greens, happy ducks.

That wraps up this entrée, the sandwich was so good. The sauce had a pesto quality to it so it tasted rich and hearty. Thanks for this challenge, I had a blast!

Sort:  

Look good, I've been eating a lot more veggies over the past year... (feel better too)

I have too, I feel like it is a positive change as well.

Hahaha this is AWESOME ren!! So funny chewie!!!

Lol, I couldn't help it when I saw them on my counter. :)

Awesome, don't forget to post it in the official contest entry post https://steemit.com/steemitsandwichcontest/@jaybird/steemit-sandwich-contest-week-22-new-week-22-theme-vegan-contest-now-open-3-prizes

Brilliant setup and play through. A lot of fun👍🏽

Thanks! I will make sure to do that! Thank you for telling me:)

Looks good! I plan on entering this week, but the Vegan theme might be tough for me to muster...

Did u say mustard..? that might be an idea lol wait is that even vegan ;)

Haha that’s what I’m saying! I have no idea!

Can't go wrong with a veggie sandwich and mustard i think. Lots of onions ;)

Pretty Freaking awesome Entry you got here. Love the cauli idea. Looks incredible. thanks for be my first...ahh i me the first lol.

Pretty action packed with all the gifs and what not! Starting the bar high I like it!

Cute ducks as well. I just ate some duck eggs on thursday, dam good!

Thanks @jaybird! I have been wanting to do your completion for a while now, glad I did. Duck eggs are so good! I realized doing this post how much eggs I do eat :)

Amazing! That is by far and away the best post about a sandwich I have ever seen in my life...
I haven't read that many sandwich posts...
But, still this sandwich post is off the hook

Haha, thank you so much. Have a wonderful day!

The real winner in this contest is happymoneyman :P (because he gets an awesome meal for free)

For real! Hope you are well :)

What a fun post and so inventive, would never have thought of cauliflower!

Thank you! I love to try cooking ingredients in new ways, this was a first for me. Hope you have a wonderful day, thanks for checking out my blog.

Wow, I'm hungry because of your sandwich photos 😋😋😋

Loving the humour in your article- very well written :-) It also my first entry in the Steemit sandwich contest this week! Yours looks amazing- I think cauliflower can be a difficult vegetable to do something fun with and you totally smashed it! I actually entered the Steemit Iron Chef contest and had to utilise Cauliflower in one of the weeks so that was a challenge and a half!

Awesome! I will have to check out your posts, I love food posts. Thank you for your feed back and taking the time to check out my blog. Hope you are having fun in the kitchen :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63