Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 22 - Triple Decker PBJ + Banana

20180107-DSC_0873.jpg

Triple Decker PBJ + Banana

Steemit Sandwich Contest - Week 22 - Vegan Theme

The Steemit Sandwich Contest hosted by @jaybird underwent some changes heading into 2018. Themes have been introduced to the competition. The first Week of 2018 is 'Vegan' themed. I don't even know how to speak Vegan. Personally, I believe bacon is mandatory for any sandwich to be considered a good sandwich. But anyway.... here is my attempt to create a Vegan sandwich that is filling and delicious. The Triple Decker PBJ + Banana is a spin on the lunch-time classic. Here's step by step instructions on how to make your own:

333333.png

20180107-DSC_0861.jpg

Ingredients

3 Slices of Bread
1 Banana
Peanut Butter
Jelly/Jam
Ground Cinnamon

333333.png

Step 1: Spread the Peanut Butter

Spread peanut butter on 2 slices of bread. I used chunky peanut butter from Trader Joe's, but feel free to use whatever kind of peanut butter you'd like.

20180107-DSC_0862.jpg

333333.png

Step 2: Spread the Jam/Jelly

Spread jam, jelly or fruit spread on both bread slices with the peanut butter. I used a Super Fruit spread from Trader Joe's containing Morello Cherries, Red Grapes, Blueberries and Pomegranate.

20180107-DSC_0863.jpg

333333.png

Step 3: Sprinkle the Cinnamon

Sprinkle a bit of ground cinnamon on both pieces of bread.

20180107-DSC_0864.jpg

333333.png

Step 4: Chop and Add the Banana

Slice up the banana into thin medallions and scatter across both sides of the bread slices.

20180107-DSC_0865.jpg
20180107-DSC_0866.jpg

333333.png

Step 5: Top It Off & Slice

Stack the loaded bread slices on top of each other. Top it off with the third piece of bread. Slice it into squares (that's how I've been eating my PBJ's since the Elementary days).

20180107-DSC_0868.jpg
20180107-DSC_0869.jpg

333333.png

Step 6: Enjoy!

Serve it up and enjoy! A treat for vegans and meat eaters alike!

20180107-DSC_0874.jpg
20180107-DSC_0870.jpg

333333.png

Find out more about the Steemit Sandwich Contest
Follow @jaybird for more!

333333.png

Thanks For Reading!

alt text

Sort:  

Haha yes my Man! I love this decked out PPBJ. I may agree with you regarding the bacon situation. Net week!

Really glad you made an entry this week. I was a little worried that Themes might discourage some of the participants since a big part of SSC is the freedom to do whatever you want, just have fun with it.

All in all looks good !

I'm a vegetarian and that looks great- nice production Jeff

Thank you! I appreciate the feedback

pbj + banana? that's new and sounds like a pretty epic combo

Thanks my friend. This is actually similar to one of Elvis Presley's signature sandwiches. He would make peanut butter, banana and bacon sandwiches and griddle them on the stove like a grilled cheese. If this wasn't a vegan contest I would most certainly add the Bacon.

Yum this is making my mouth water! I entered for the first time this week- good to see another SIC contestant in the steemit sandwich contest! :-)

My friend Karl would be proud to call you friend ...No one on planet earth has ever made me stranger sandwiches than him .... also my favourite sandwich ...

The Red Dwarf Sandwich

My friend Karl would be proud to call you friend ...No one on planet earth has ever made me stranger sandwiches than him .... also my favourite sandwich .The Red Dwarf Sandwich

Haha I do feel like I'm having a baby after that one...

Think I might be the only person in the world that doesn't like bacon. Hate the taste and smell (even when I was still eating meat) so good you didn't add it hehe! Nice sweet sandwich!

Yummmmmm! You got me hungry!

OMG you made me hungry now. Actually I am already hungry lol and now this!
I have never seen a banana sandwich. This is the first time, but it looks yummy!

I wish you good luck in the contest :)

Thank you very much @hanen!

It looks like after one of those, you'll be completely stuffed!

Woo! It look delicious.😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44