Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 2 - Bacon, Tomato, and Smoked Gouda on Homemade Garlic Cheddar Bread

Here's my entry for the 2nd week's #steemitsandwichcontest hosted by the sandwich man himself, @jaybird.

There are several parts to this sandwich, and they all make a real team effort to make it a dang good one.

IMG_0300.JPG

IMG_0296.JPG

IMG_0298.JPG


Let's start with the Roasted Garlic and Cheddar Bread

I'll post all the cheesy details to this bread soon. It's got cheddar, parmesan, and about 16 cloves of roasted garlic baked right in.

IMG_0290.JPG

Then we can move on to the Roasted Garlic Aioli, which is a fun and fresh homemade cousin of mayo that I'm also going to post on soon!

IMG_0291.JPG

Next is a slice of smoked Gouda and some portabello mushrooms sauteed in olive oil and balsamic vinegar until the vinegar caramelized to produce a deep and tangy sweetness.

IMG_0292.JPG

IMG_0293.JPG

Add a slice of crispy thick-cut bacon, garden yellow tomatoes and we're nearly there.

IMG_0294.JPG

IMG_0295.JPG

Finally, an over-medium backyard egg, some garden basil and chives and another slice of aioli-smeared garlic cheddar bread seals the deal.

IMG_0297.JPG

IMG_0299.JPG


Ingredients

  • roasted garlic cheesy bread
  • roasted garlic aioli
  • smoked gouda cheese
  • balsamic glazed portabello mushrooms
  • thick-cut crispy bacon
  • sliced garden tomato
  • over-medium egg
  • basil and chives
  • satisfaction

IMG_0301.JPG

IMG_0302.JPG


Big thanks to @jaybird for conceptualizing and hosting this fun challenge!


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on August 17, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Great..Following u dear.

You had me at gouda. That looks delicious. Egg and gouda is a great combination.

Yeah smoky Gouda is my jam! Thanks @marxrab!!

Omg it looks so delicious, smoked gouda, with bacon, tomatoes and portabella sounds like such a delicious combo. Definitely something I would go for.

I was thinking I could totally see this in a scramble with sweet potatoes shredded up- and add spinach - thoughts?

Never mind, I totally missed what you meant, I see you meant like all scrambled in maybe like a fritter scramble almost. That would be delicious with some hot sauce please 😱😱🤤

Hahaha yessss- load it up with hot sauce!

You could probably save yourself some time, bake some sweet potato slices, throw some butter in a pan with some brown sugar, then toss the sweet potato slices in there, pickle some feathered red onion slices and sneak those in also, then we have salty, sweet, and sour , all within this masterpiece 🤤🤤. Spinach is weird to me as a green leafy, so my opinion with that is biased and worthless lol. My favorite greens are Bok Choy and Kale. 🙈🙈

Lovely entry! Looks so good, even though I hate the taste of bacon. Good luck.

Well bacon or not, thanks for your support @amy-goodrich :)

Now THAT'S a sandwich! Kind of like a Skyscraper Dagwood. Good luck in contest, and in eating it as well ( :

Gotta look up Dagwood: ooooh yum! K maybe that'll be next on the menu :)

Pretty much any sandwich stacked up beyond normal hand-holds, and certain reason.

Very well stacked sandwich @jaymorebeet!
Looking so yummy!
Good luck for the contest, you are on time for this one!
@progressivechef

Thanks @progressivechef! Hahah finally on time! Thanks for remembering :)

L.O.V.E. to learn how to make those bread - simply delicious @jaymorebeet

Yesss! I've just got to get my photos in order and I'll post the recipe for you - definitely one of my fave breads so far. :)

This looks so yummy!

Thanks girl! I'm definitely going to make this cheddar garlic bread again soon and I think you would like it - will post my recipe soon! :)

Ho ho ho...ly crap ...

Epic Manwich.. no no this is an Epic Womwich !

Home made garlic cheesy bread, garlic aioli already a fan as I love garlic!

Love the stacked presentation ;)

Tha-tha-thank ya @jaybird. Your contest is so fun!! I think my blood type is G+ because I love garlic so much. Keeps the mosquitos away I've heard :)

haha and onions are a natural air purifier !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83