Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #49: Chicken salad.steemCreated with Sketch.

What has Steem done to me!?

My first day off baking in like 10 days and I am writing about a sandwich.  Well to be fair I made this sandwich yesterday. This as part of a bigger batch. 

I try and make everything scratch. I buy whole chickens and steam cook them for my sandwiches. This leaves me with the carcass, in which I always make a broth and using is for warm winter soups. Here in Northern Peru it is currently winter and those soups do come welcomed. Today there is no baking, but I have the mother of all soups on the go right now. 

 

To all sandwich makers out there. Go check out this contest: Steemit sandwich contest week 49.

Big shout out goes to @jaybird for organizing this contest. 

I used the following to make this sandwich:

Bread:

  • Wheat flour 
  • Water
  • Yeast
  • Sesame seeds
  • Salt 

Filler:

  • Chicken
  • Caramelized onions and garlic
  • Parsley
  • Tomato
  • Onion
  • Lettuce
  • Mayonnaise
  • Sriracha hot sauce
  • Salted butter
  • Salt & pepper

Caramelized onions

A key component of my chicken salad sandwich. Before I steam the chicken, I caramelize a load of onion first. This adds a level of sweetness without adding sugar. Plus the onion keeps the chicken moist whilst refrigerated. 

In a small bowl, I chucked in some chicken mix, mayonnaise and sriracha hot sauce. 

 

Add a good bunch of freshly chopped parsley and onion. 


Of course fresh bread. Well I do with my sandwiches. Layered with salted butter, sliced tomato and lettuce. 


In goes the chicken mix.


Oh this was such a tasty nugget of a sandwich! 


I forgot to validate such was my hunger, but good thing I made 7 of these. 

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer


Sort:  

amamizng and beautiful lookstasty

guyysss do follow me to get amazing food benefits and unbeliveable facts i am a food blogger

Looks like a good 1. Love the carmized onions and of course the freshly chopped herbs!

Stay warm brother man!

Beautiful looking sandwich, really looks flavorfull @intrepidsurfer. (so is it cold there right now?) Chicken soup! Woohoo! always amazing too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.94
ETH 3490.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90