Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #48 : Healthy veggie lentil burger recipesteemCreated with Sketch.

Happiest of Fridays and long live the weekend everyone. 

Over the last week or so, I have been getting more and more enquirers about my vegetarian options. I usually switch between cheese burgers and chicken salad, but today I was like why not. Going to make a few extra people happy today. 

What I didn't realize, was that it is considerably more effort to make than a typical veggie sandwich. I still can't figure out how minced beef is cheaper than say dried lentils. 

 

To all sandwich makers out there. Go check out this contest: Steemit sandwich contest week 48.

Big shout out goes to @jaybird for organizing this contest. 

I used the following to make this sandwich:

Bread:

  • Wheat flour 
  • Water
  • Yeast
  • Sesame seeds
  • Salt 

Filler:

  • Lentils
  • Tomato
  • Mantecoso cheese
  • Eggs
  • Curry powder
  • Red onion
  • Coriander or cilantro 
  • Iceberg lettuce
  • Sriracha hot sauce
  • Mayonnaise 
  • Salt and pepper
  • White flour

I boiled the lentils for about 45 minutes. You don't want them to get too mushy and I prefer a tiny crunch on mine. 

 


Chopped coriander or cilantro.

In goes a touch of curry powder (any will do), salt and pepper. 

Throw in some very finely diced onions, a dollop of Sriracha hot sauce and egg. 

Mix well and add flour slowly to thicken it up. Egg and flour helps bind everything together. 

I weighed out set amounts of mixture and poured it onto the pan. It is like making hash browns. 


Six where made today.

Slice tomato.

Lentil burger with a slice of very creamy cheese. 


Validating whilst adding red onion, lettuce and mayonnaise.

This one is mine :) and it was delicious. 

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer

Sort:  

Wow! Those really look like meat patties. I have yet to make a good veggie burger myself so I'll have to give yours a try. Looks delicious!

I’ve often found it much more difficult to make a good veggie sandwich myself.

Love the attempt and i feel u succeeded.
Love the array of additives u put into this and the time dedicated to produce it!

Great idea. I haven't made a burger using lentils. Adding the curry give it such a warm flavor, and of course the siracha sauce adds another layer of pop! Exciting sandwiches for another audience!

it is super good and I do recommend that you try this at home. Lentils, I believe has more protein than meat.

There is a recipe for making croquettes or lentil meat and letting them soak for a whole day then take them to the blender and with what you want to place and beat

I love lentils so I love this hamburger

You do not cook the lentils before you put them in the blender. Lentils are soooo good. So much so, I am having some for breakfast.

I just love lentils, sure this must have been great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59022.17
ETH 2569.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53