Steemitsandwichcontest Carrot Mushroom Burger

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry into #steemitsandwichcontest # 42 thanks to @jaybird

burger16.jpg

Today I experimented with making a flat bread without yeast. I also did not have access to a fully functional oven. What would be my source of heat? Well of course it would be the barbecue in the backyard of where I am staying.

The bread was made from flour,baking soda, water, salt and pepper. I wasn't sure if it would work as I have never made bread from regular flour without yeast before.

burger2.jpg

It worked thank goodness because I had already prepared the mushroom carrot burgers. They were ready to go on the grill.

burger8.jpg

burger.jpg

burger1.jpg

I made them from grated carrots, grated mushrooms, chickpea flour, green onion, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper.

Before they went on the grill I browned them in a pan so they could get a head start. There was not much oil added to the non stick pan.

burger5.jpg

And on to the grill with the other items that I would add including eggplant, red onion, green pepper, tomato and pear which I decided to add since there were some pears that refuse to properly ripen. The pear was marinated in salt, pepper and lemon juice.

burger3.jpg

The eggplant would later be brushed with my homemade barbecue sauce. A mixture of tomato paste, maple syrup, salt, chili powder, lemon juice, vinegar, cumin, paprika, garlic powder and onion powder.

burger4.jpg

burger7.jpg

burger6.jpg

Ready to assemble!

burger9.jpg

The pear was drizzled with a maple balsamic reduction made from maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, cane sugar, onion powder, garlic powder and salt.

burger14.jpg

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

burger17.jpg

burger20.jpg

burger19.jpg

Yes this did fit into my mouth!

burger18.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Mushroom lover here! Great sandwich and love your creativity. Good luck.

One has to love this delicious looking burger @ carolynstahl thank you for sharing this here, but to be totally honest with you here I would really prefer if you could ship a couple of these bad boys over - I die to taste this

Thanks I will get on that!

Beautiful sandwich. Made me hungry, nothing like grilling out! Well done :)

Grilling is the best. I'm glad it made you hungry. Thank you so much @birdsinparadise.

humm this looks really yummy dear, this is really amazing.

Dear, nice burger! I feeling to eat now..

Haha thank you bon appetite!

Wow!!! This is an exceptional burger Carolyn..............well done and good luck 🌸💖🌸

What a wonderful compliment! Thank you so much I really appreciate those kind words Lena!!!

You are most welcome Sweetie 🌸💖🌸

You are very creative and I love how you adjust to what you have.. I don't have oven, oh well, let's put them on the grill! :) Good luck with your entry. For me it's definitely the winner! :)

Such a nice thing to say. I really have fun with my limitations. Thank you kindly @delishtreats!

looks it taste delicious and awesome food photography

Oh yummy @carolynstahl, I looove flatbread and egg plant and and and...all my favourite ingredients!

I had no yeast so flatbread was my only option haha. I do love it though. Thanks so much @lizelle!

What can I say.. ..? You do know how to make vegetarian shine!

Thanks that means a lot coming from the magic food designer!

ill need to find a title for you if you keep on calling me that!!

Call me shorty!

Seriously? You are physically short? Or there is another meaning to it?

Physically and now that you mention it. I could use a few bucks hahaha!

Haha in a thousand years I wouldn’t knew that if you never told me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66442.48
ETH 3553.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10