Steemit Sandwich Contest ~ Falafel Sandwich On Buckwheat Pancakes

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to #steemitsandwichcontest week # 51 thanks to @jaybird
ssc13.jpg

I felt like keeping it gluten free today. I don't have a gluten intolerance but I do feel better without it. I do love regular bread though.

For the I falafel patty, I first soaked chickpeas overnight.

ssc.jpg

The chickpeas were ground in a chopper along with garlic, green onion and parsley. I added to the mix, some baking soda, salt and pepper. They were not cooked first.

ssc3.jpg

The pancakes were made with buckwheat flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and tapioca flour.

ssc4.jpg

A falafel wouldn't be right without tahini dressing so I combined tahini, or sesame paste with fresh garlic, lemon juice, salt and pepper.

ssc6.jpg

In the meantime I was marinating cucumbers for the sandwich.

ssc5.jpg

And now to assemble the weirdest falafel ever.

ssc7.jpg

The pancake was slathered with tahini sauce, topped with marinated pickle, tomatoes, shredded purple orange carrots, red onion and arugula.

ezgif.com-gif-maker(2).gif

ssc15.jpg

On the side were oven fries which I chopped with my new purchase of a mandolin. I couldn't figure out how to use it at first but then I discovered it cut some pretty awesome fries.

ssc16.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Lovely yummy sandwich @carolynstahl, so very nice to see you on your days off :)

Thank you @lizelle! Days off are sooo great.

I love the taste of buckwheat flour. It's so nutty and to pair it with falafel, what an excellent idea. Nice one @carolynstahl! What is your favorite dish at the restaurant?

Oh hello @loeself. I have been getting more into buckwheat lately and you're right how you describe the taste.
Honestly the food at the restaurant is pretty boring but I would say that the tomato tart is the most tasty. I always have a big salad though.
Thanks for the compliment!

This looks very tasty @carolynstahl from the falafal to the marinated cucumbers. That tahini is a great add for flavor! Oh, and those fries....yum! Beautiful presentation.
I agree with you about gluten. I certainly feel better when I don't eat it! I haven't cooked with buckwheat though. I may need to check it out!

I like the idea with the gif, to see how the sandwich is being build :-)

But also a very good sandwich 👍✌️

Thanks a million @avizor!

Oooo, i like this. Home made falafal and buckwheat pancakes!!!

Shudang!

You sort of pickled thos cucumbers eh!?

I love that too.

So much prep and homemadeness to this entry that makes it awesome and gluten free to boot.

Nice pres!

Ha ha thanks I love "Shudang" I 'm using it.

Lol it’s finally catching on ;)

Friend an excellent entry for this week 51 each week is a new challenge and you are a chef and you do it very well
How is your job going? How is Marc?

Thank you for your support my friend. I am not a chef but I appreciate that you say that. You are so kind.
The job is fine. Marc was working today and I had the day off. We have opposite schedules.
I wish you the best!

For me you are a chef you know that I love your recipes and you imgenias very well in the kitchen, thank you for your good wishes

I adore you my friend!!

Looks delicious and definitely healthy! :)

Thanks @mrchef111 It was definitely a much healthier way to eat a falafel than the usual.

you are welcome! :)

This looks so delicious, and so healthy. Yum!

Thank you so much!

Mmmm, now I'm craving falafel! Love the idea of a buckwheat flour "bun". A great way to still have a proper sandwich while keeping it gluten free!

Thanks @plantstoplanks! It's not as healthy as your dishes but it is better than the restaurant kind haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67724.53
ETH 2606.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72