Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #62 | Spicy Carne Asada Open Face!

DSC_0079 (2).jpg

Good Day my Steemian Sandwich friends! Are you hungry? I hope so!


Here we are week 62 of @jaybirds legendary Steemit Sandwich Contest! This week @jaybird has thrown us a “Royal Rumble” of the dice! Anything Goes! Well I would doubt there is a sandwich he hasn’t seen….nor a sandwich he doesn’t love. You see, he is the King of Sandwiches! We appreciate his example and his stellar sense of humor each week! Big thanks @jaybird.


I have wanted to share this tasty sandwich with you for a while. This week we’ll be going “open-faced” I thought this way it allows you to enjoy the beautiful colors, texture and smell of your sandwich! The first time I ate this visiting my sister in California I was hooked! I knew I had to make this myself!


todaysjourney.jpg

Spicy Carne Asada Open Faced!


Marinade

  • Ancho Chili
  • Chipotle Chili
  • Fresh Orange (juiced)
  • Fresh Lime (Juiced)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Low Sodium Soy Sauce
  • Cumin
  • Coriander
  • Maple Syrup

  • Pork Shoulder
  • Red Peppers
  • Red Onion
  • Garlic Cloves
  • Tomatoes
  • Avocado
  • Fresh Salsa
  • Sriracha
  • Grated Mexican cheese mix
  • Chipotle Cream
  • Salt/Pepper (to taste)

I blended all of the marinade ingredients, poured over the pork shoulder and marinated the shoulder overnight. The next morning I seared the pork shoulder on all sides to seal in the flavor and placed it in my slow cooker.


DSC_0035 (2).jpg


Sauté the garlic, onion and peppers and include nestle those around of the pork shoulder. Top the cooker with a lid, set on high and leave it alone for about 4 hours. Check at that point, you may need to turn it down depending on when you wish to eat!


About an hour before dinner we make the “bread” for this tasty creation. In this case all we needed was ground corn Masa and filtered water! Mix those two together until well combined, roll into balls about the size of a small lime and get ready to roll


DSC_0046 (2).jpg


Using either wax or plastic wrap, sandwich the rolled Masa ball between two pieces. Use your favorite rolling pin to roll the Masa into a very, very thin disk about 6” across. Repeat this procedure until all of your Masa balls have been rolled.


DSC_0051 (2).jpg

Toast these on your griddle about 30 seconds each side, turning 3-4 times. I wrapped them in a clean towel to keep them warm and moist while I cooked them. If you don’t keep them covered you’ll have a crunchy mess of cooked Masa….not the desired bread for your Carne Asada.


I figured we had to have some guacamole to top our Asada. So chop up those tomatoes, avocado, onion, and fresh cilantro. Mix with your fresh salsa and oh, don’t forget the Sriracha sauce!


DSC_0058 (2).jpg


Back to the Carne Asada! Shred the pork shoulder with two forks and now it’s time to assemble!

Layer the Asada Carne liberally on top of the Mesa-bread! Guac on top drizzle the Chipotle Cream and a fairy sprinkle of cheese!

DSC_0086 (2).jpg

Feel free to roll up the sides when you take your first bite! As Mr. Bird said…. Oh, wow!


DSC_0075 (2).jpg

Nothing like a cold beverage with your Carne Asada! Mr. Bird brews a mean Craft Beer…..I think this one is called Berlin IPA. Stay tuned, I’ll be sharing this with you soon!

DSC_0101 (2).jpg

Thanks for stopping by! May you all have a wonderful sandwich this week!
And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 282 (10/15/18)

I was not hungry before viewing this post, but I sure am now :)

hehe, Great! Just the effect I was hoping for! lol Thanks @tatoodjay!

Reminds me of some type of delicious mexican style food! Indeed the openface allows us to view and appreciate what’s inside :)

Great homemade aspects of this creation! The ballz the pork shoulder abd the guac!

Mmm

Really diggin this entry.

Yes, a different take on our sandwichness with a Mexican flair :) Thought you might enjoy! I'll dm you on Tuesday with my veto votes! :) Thanx @jaybird!

Sounds great! I believe it’s another small round so shouldn’t be to tough lol.

Oh my but this is a masterpiece @birdsinparadise, looks and sounds amazing!
Hood luck with the contest :)

What great flavors! Tender pork, creamy guacamole and tangy salsa. Sooo hungry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02