Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #51 | Caramelized Spicy Walnut Pesto Pinwheels

DSC_0157 (2).jpg

Hello my fellow Sandwich Creators!

It’s Week #51 of @jaybirds Steemit Sandwich Contest! Wow, almost 1 year! Well done @jaybird! Thank you for hosting this contest each week! You know, 51 weeks of sandwiches...that is a lot of sandwiches! I think by now you have seen just about everything! No wonder he is the King of Sandwiches!


This week I felt like I needed to use some of the leftovers I have been acquiring with all of the Steemit creations lately. I made a wonderful Walnut Pesto which sounds like a great foundation for this week’s sandwich!


todaysjourney.jpg

Caramelized Spicy Walnut Pesto Pinwheels!


This is a recipe which satisfies my vegetable and pizza taste buds all at once! We used to have pizza every Friday night when I grew up; there was an amazing pizza place in town. As a family we really looked forward to Friday nights. Playing Monopoly and eating pizza and occasionally we were treated with a Coke!


These Pinwheels are light, but satisfying. We love the occasional pizza but so often the pizza’s we try are too heavy and greasy. Not to mention you don’t really know how they’ve been prepared! But these pinwheels… Mr. Bird certainly loves them! The Spicy Walnut Pesto has a cheesy taste with a surprisingly spicy kick. A nice change from the typical tomato sauces.


Ingredients


Pesto

  • Spinach
  • Fresh Garlic Cloves (Minced)
  • Nutritional Yeast
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Lemon Juice
  • Walnuts

Pizza Dough

  • Flour
  • Water
  • Almond Milk
  • Sea Salt
  • Maple Syrup
  • Yeast
  • Coconut Oil
  • Italian Spices

Pinwheel Toppings

  • Onions
  • Black Olives
  • Baby Bella Mushrooms
  • Daiya Pepper Jack Cheese
  • Nutritional Yeast

First I prepped the dough and set it aside to rise. When it was ready I divided it into two pieces. I'll save one piece for another recipe I'll share later :)


DSC_0111 (2).jpg


I sautéed the onions until they began to caramelize. Sliced the Bella Mushrooms and sautéed those for about 10 minutes. Time to slice the black olives.


DSC_0097 (2).jpg


To prepare the pesto, add all ingredients to your food processor. Blend until smooth. Beautiful isn’t it?


DSC_0073 (2).jpg

Now to Assemble!


Roll the dough out in a rectangle about 1/4” thick. Apply a thin coating of the pesto to cover the entire crust leaving about a ½” strip without pesto along the two long edges. Apply the toppings, with cheeses being last! Now it’s time to roll! Roll slowly, pinching the ends as you roll. When you have finished the roll lay it seam side down on your parchment lined baking sheet. I brushed a light coat of garlic infused olive oil on the roll before baking. Place in a 400 degree oven for 20-25 minutes


DSC_0118 (2).jpg


Remove from oven and let it cool before cutting.


DSC_0128 (2).jpg

Slice and Serve!

DSC_0138 (2).jpg

Bon Apetite my Friends!


DSC_0149 (3).jpg

Thanks for stopping by! Sandwiches, a quick way to capture healthy foods in one bite! @jaybird, thanks again for providing this great forum for such amazing creativity!

And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

This is such a great way to present a pizza. I love the way it looks and pesto is sooo good.
Congratulations on a well deserved curie vote!

Thank you @carolynstahl. It was a fun idea, I'm glad you liked it. The walnut pesto using spinach is one I am very fond of. :)

Hi birdsinparadise,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oh my! Thank you so much, I am so honored. I'm glad you enjoyed all enjoyed them! :)

Hello how are you? pesto I love pesto I have not tried it inside a bread I must do it

This bread reminds me that we prepare in December in my country is tradition we call ham bread goes stuffed with smoked ham, raisins, olives this is delicious

Oh that sounds like a wonderful idea. I must try your idea...thanks my friend! :)

You should do it, of course the bread dough is a bit sweet, you add milk, sugar, if you like you can try it

That looks so good and tasty

Thank you @tatoodjay, a nice change from the usual pizza night :)

Shudang! This is quite something. Left overs are the mother of creation when it comes to sandwiches eh!?

that Caramelized Spicy Walnut Pesto, holy cow that sounds amazing!

So much goodness packed inside of this piece. Excellent job on the home made bread thingy too. Presentation of this is fantastic & I'm literally going to have to go make lunch now.... hahah.

And yes almost 1 year, I'm pretty sure we've had a few thousand sandwiches entered in this time...hard to believe! Thank You for your dedication and support for this hilarious contest :)

oh and congrats on the curie vote... you deserved that big time!

Thanks @jaybird, love this contest! You do a great job hosting and have created a great community of fun people with great imagination. I hope you keep going!

indeed, I'm always impressed but what's happening here :)

I love your Roly Poly pizza, great fillings as well! Congrats on the @curie upvote :)

Thank you Miss Lizelle! I really appreciate your kind words. I must say the curie upvote caught me off guard....I was really struggling today. A nice surprise :)

No ways :) I believe this is the second time this has happened. I virtually made the same thing, but no twirl. Your sandwich has my vote :)

lol, I guess great minds think alike right? I'll have to check your post out. You're too sweet @intrepidsurfer, thank you for the kind words!

Can I come over for game night?? 😋

Of course you can! lol Glad you liked it! Thanks so much my friend!

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-29T22:41:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 602.75/200.00
Total Photos: 96
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.19 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65669.27
ETH 2668.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87