Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #22: Gourmet Vegan BLAT (Bacon Lettuce Avocado and Tomato) Recipe

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

I have been giddy with anticipation since @Jaybird announced Vegan Theme Week for Week #22 of the Steemit Sandwich Contest. As a vegan, I had great plans for this contest. Like a general planning for his troops, I planned and plotted which sandwiches I would make. And then.....real life happened!

For the last week, I have been ill and, though my health is on the upswing, I spent very little time in the production kitchen for At Meme's Table. No matter, I mused, I can make up for lost time on Monday. Surely, I will be able to implement my sandwich plans and get the posts in on time. This would have worked if I wasn't as weak as a new born kitten. Without the stamina to work as I pleased, I find myself offering different sandwich submissions than originally planned. Even so, this is still one doggone good sandwich.

A great BLAT (Bacon, Lettuce, Avacodo and Tomato) starts with a great bacon. For my Vegan version, I used King Oyster Mushrooms for the bacon. These mushrooms are hearty, toothsome, have a great texture and will soak up whatever flavor you throw at them.

Here, I coated the thinly sliced mushrooms with a marinade of:

1 tbsp almond butter
1 tbsp mild olive oil (or organic, nonGMO canola oil)
1 tbsp maple syrup
1.5 tsp tamari
1 tsp liquid smoke
1 tsp Montreal Steak Seasoning

(All of the above was whizzed in the blender until well combined. Then it was poured over the sliced mushrooms which were on a parchment lined baking sheet. The mushrooms were sprinkled lightly with freshly cracked black pepper and allowed to rest for about 30 minutes. Then they were placed into a 400 degree preheated oven for about 15 minutes. In hindsight, I would reduce the oven temp to 350 and cook for longer as needed.)

This was a super simple recipe for mushroom bacon. Though I really enjoyed this recipe and the taste was delicious, I think I preferred my other recipe which I use when I'm not short on time or energy. This alternative recipe can be found on my blog at: https://www.atmemestable.com/bombdiggity-vegan-bacon/

While the bacon was cooking, I thinly sliced a ripe tomato and one-half of a ripe avocado. These I placed on bread spread with a vegan garlic mayo and topped with fresh leaf lettuce.

Then drizzle with a good balsamic vinegar.

Once your bacon is out of the oven, pile it on!

And, before I forget, here is my validating photo (I forgot to take this picture and had to hastily reassmble my sandwich for a quick photo! )

Enjoy!!!

Until tomorrow, all the best my fellow Steemians!

Hi, I'm Benita G. You may also know me as, or call me, @AtMemesTable.

Hope you loved this post. Now, make me a happy girl and upvote my post and follow me.

I would love to have the opportunity to talk to you and to get to know you and you me. Check me out later! 'Cause you'd best believe that I'm going to be checking you out! Find me @AtMemesTable.

See you tomorrow!

Sort:  

Ohh Wow, this looks really delicious 😋
I'm not a vegan but this is definitely something I would love to try. Made me hungry.. Lol
Thank you for sharing. Cheers!

Thank you, @saffisara! It's definitely a favorite in our house. All the best!

My pleasure and thank You for sharing this😉
I can understand that it is a favorite.
Have a wonderful week. Cheers!

This is probably the perfect vegan sandwich!

It's not fancy, @robertomarinello, but its a great sandwich! Thanks for checking it out! All the best!

Mmmm Mushroom Bacon. That actually is quite appealing and ingenious.

Looks great all in all as an entry. Sry to hear you were ill this week. Hate when the wind is outta the ol' sails.

Hope you feel better !

Wow that mushroom bacon sounds even tastier than the real stuff! Yummy!

Thank you, @foodflaneur! Believe it or not, carrot bacon is pretty tasty too. Very similar technique for making and super easy!

Absolutely stonking looking sandwich! My sandwich of choice would probably use either tempeh or seitan for the 'bacon'.
keep the great content coming!

Thank you so much, @bucketofsteem! I love tempeh, when prepared correctly. Seitan too...if the texture is right. Thanks for checking out my post. Be sure to check out my blog for other vegan recipes. Thanks and all the best!

All hail the mushroom queen! Oh my goodness you have my mouth watering on this one! 😋 I'm glad you are feeling better. Going to check out the other sandwiches now...

Aw, you're so sweet @plantstoplanks! Thanks so much..glad to be feeling better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87