Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #24 - The Brick Tuna Sandwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

This is my first entry ever for the Steemit Sandwich Contest hosted by @jaybird.

The sandwich is The Brick Tuna Sandwich

Tuna Sandwich 1.jpg

Tuna Sandwich 2.jpg

Tuna Sandwich 3.jpg

Tuna Sandwich 4 proof.JPG

What you will need:

  • 1 onion
  • about 100 grams mushrooms
  • 1 tuna can
  • about 2 spoons of mayonnaise
  • salt
  • pepper
  • optionally you can also add canned corn (about a cup)
  • very thinly sliced black bread, any bread will do, unless you care for the “brick” look

Preparation:

Chop the onion and put in some bowl, mix with salt by hand
Cut mushrooms put in over the onions
Open tuna can, drain, chop/smash tuna inside the can with a teaspoon, put tuna over the other ingredients in the bowl, chop it further if it needs it.
Take about 2 spoons of mayo and put it in the bowl, it is better to not put in all at once, because it’s not going to be that good if it’s all drenched in mayo.
You want mayo but not a sea of mayo…

Keep the equilibrium… :)

Add salt
Add your pepper of choice in this case it was Pili Pili

Mix and fine tune the salad to your taste adding more mayo, salt and pepper if you need

Have the bread slices ready, top and lock the sandwiches

Voila !!!….

This is my first post ever for this competition and I did not read carefully enough the full requirements, realizing that I needed to photograph the sandwiches next to a hand written note only after I ate them…

I did have some bread left over so I did a photo with plate + bread + note, as I saw some other contestants did.

I can also supply dozens of extra photos of the “shoot” as proof if needed.

Sort:  

Hey Welcome to SSC,

Great looking piece. I love a good tuna sandwich. Interesting addition adding the mushrooms!

What kind of bread is that? Looks like it might be gluten free maybe?

FYI in the future, try to make sure your validation sign is with the actual sandwich or most of it,... I know that you probably ate it and then realized you needed the sign lol. No worries this week ;)

Any excuse to eat mushrooms for me... :) Tastes great too.

The bread is actually homemade, it's pretty dense and dry, kind of like monks eat in the monastery.

Not sure what's in it, but I can find out.

Yea it looked super dense, that's why I thought perhaps gluten free haha..

Found out what's in the bread.

Mostly rye with a bit of normal flour, water, oil, yeast, salt.

Tuna is totally one of my favourite sandwich fillers, yum!

Do you have any suggestions for sauce besides mayo?

I find tuna quite dry and always in need of a sauce...

I mix in onions and frank’s red hot sometimes. Helps a little. Olive oil instead of mayo can work too.

This is not food related but maybe you know something about this...

I keep seeing notices for author and curator rewards that have been paid out, but they don't show up in my wallet...

Any idea what could be the problem ?

I took a look and it seems to me that they have been added, they are just super small amounts like .001 SP so they go right to SP not SBD for example and perhaps you aren't noticing the small change... ? looks like the SBD payouts worked right...I saw you were able to send to bittrex etc.

The bittrex thing was a contest I won, so not from payouts.

Did you use busy or steemd, what tools did you use to check?

If you look at this screenshot, and the last 2 entries are after you checked.

Screen Shot 2018-01-25 at 1.02.53 PM.png

You can see there is both Steem Power and SBD, Steem Power it's easy to miss, because as you said the amounts are tiny, but the SBD in my wallet is on zero, although I keep getting these payments. My wallet should show a very low amount of SBD, but it should be more than zero.

Mmm i see what u mean... r u accepting the rewards when u go to the wallet and the transaction is going through?

U may have to contact the developers on steem.chat

I can’t really see what’s going in fully on ur end.

" r u accepting the rewards when u go to the wallet and the transaction is going through"

I did not know about that... and I almost always check my wallet on busy.org, which does not show the amounts to be redeemed with this button

So that was it... Thanks Jaybird!!!

Any idea why they made this button and doesn't go directly into your account ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.44
ETH 2350.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52