Steemitsandwichcontest - Grilled Polenta Sandwich With Two Pestos

in #steemitsandwhichcontest6 years ago (edited)

corn11.jpg

This is my entry for #steemitsandwichcontest week #38 by @jaybird

Two pesto layered grilled polenta


I had a limited amount of time in the kitchen that belongs to Marc's parents. They went shopping. Today I would be using a bit of garlic, and they absolutely hate the smell. We have had many scuffles over this but I dared to do it while they were gone.

I happen to love pesto on pasta so today I incorporated it into a sandwich. Since I wanted something other than bread I thought I would make some grilled polenta, which I believe is typically Italian as is pesto.

The Polenta is something I've made a couple of times in my life but this is the first time I grilled it. It starts with adding cornmeal to boiling hot water and constantly stirring to make sure it is lump free. I added some oregano and salt as well. When it is thick pour it into a dish or desired mold. Let it sit and firm up so it can be cut.
linee.jpg
corn.jpg

I wanted to cut slices like bread so I used a square baking dish.
linee.jpg

corn3.jpg

And grill after a brush with olive oil

corn4.jpg

I wanted some mushrooms to add so I sauteed some in a pan with onions

corn1.jpg

The sundried tomato pesto was blended with soaked sundried tomatoes, garlic, lemon juice,olive oil, salt and sunflower seeds. Ideally I would use pine nuts, but they cost about a billion dollars. The sunflower seeds after they were soaked worked great.
The basil pesto was blended with fresh basil, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, ground almonds and sunflower seeds.

I had grilled some marinated onions and peppers along with the polenta.

corn2.jpg

Starting with the basil pesto on one layer, I added to that the onions, peppers and mushrooms.

corn5.jpg

Then tomato pesto layer was also topped with onions, peppers and mushroom

corn6.jpg
There was pesto on all of the inside sides.

corn9.jpg

corn7.jpg

corn8.jpg

Since I was on an Italian theme, I decided that rapini would be a nice side for this. It was tossed with olive oil and lemon.

corn10.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

I like the idea of the polenta. I usually have polenta for breakfast with eggs. The pesto is nice as it adds lots of flavor and a good combo with the dry polenta. Beautiful and yummy sandwich all around! You have my vote! Good luck.

Thank you so much @tesscooks4u. I haven't had a lot of polenta in my life so I like that you have had it for breakfast. I want to have it more often.

Putting some thought into this... Hope it tasted as you wished with the prep necessary. #sandwichwork

that is so good, haven't had polenta for some time... but that will change now. thank you for this...
peace love and happiness

Aww that's awesome. I also hadn't had it for a long time. Thanks so much. Peace love and happiness to you too @mondoshawan

Very tasty, paring pesto with the grilled onions and mushroom. Well done! Good luck to you my friend!

Oh thank you and good luck to you as well with your awesome entry

Sure it is just as delicious as it looks in the photos.

Thank you it really was!

Awesome! Polenta Bread!

And the innards of this sandwich...Grilled Onions & Peppers, always a good choice ;)

Thank you so much. I haven't had polenta in a long while. It was really delish!

Oh wow absolutely love your creation! I really like polenta but I've never tried it grilled before. I have to give it a try! Using this instead of bread is such a great idea!!

I also never grilled it before but I know many people do. And it's gluten free if anybody needs it to be.

Thanks @nina.ser

Nicely done Carolyn!!! I live close to the Italian border, so I really dig this!!! Great combo and the rapini....uff...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66445.86
ETH 2588.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68