Road biking Northern California

in #steemitroadbike6 years ago

Hello all, this is my road bike ride from this afternoon. It was 26 miles and 1200 feet of climbing. It was a warm 77* f for a change, it has mostly been in the 60* range for most of May which is on the cool side for northern California.
strava.jpg

GPS data is from a Garmin Vivoactive HR, Wahoo fitness HRM.
data.jpg

While rolling through West Valley College, these red flowers caught my eye against the blue sky.
flower.jpg

The neighbors put up a mirror so they can see if there are cars coming around the corner in the Los Gatos foothills.
mirror.jpg

The Los Gatos farmers market was closing up when I was passing through.
Orchid.JPG

The other day I purchased a new chainring from Wickworks for the road bike, it has a very large range with a 53 tooth and a 34 tooth. I also have a new cassette which is a 11-32 which is also wide. So I can hit the downhills without spinning out on a 52-11 and climb the steeper hills with the 34-32. I'll take photos when I get it installed next week.
wickworks.jpg

Happy Sunday and Memorial day weekend!

Sort:  

I always believed there could only be a 16 teeth difference between the big and small chainring. Thus a 50-34 compact or a 52-36 semi-compact. I didn't know a 53-34 was even possible!

11-32 coupled with a compact didn't work on the downhills? Do you really go flat out even on the downhills?

I'm currently running a 52-34 and with a 52-11 gearing, I'm spun out on declines. The Wickworks is a custom chainring with special chain ramps on the 53 so it can make the move up from so low (34)

On a -6% decline and 52-11, I can hit about ~39mph with my cadence at 100. I need the extra tooth up front!

Very nice and beautiful flowers on your ride way. I love nature and you are enjoying a lot.

You got a 2.08% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @glennolua!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Hi, Nice to meet you and Upvoted you :) !
:
流水在碰到底处时才会释放活力。——歌德

You got a 3.96% upvote from @upme thanks to @glennolua! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44