Steemit Resolution: Bringing my skillz

in #steemitresolution7 years ago

B5EB600E-826B-46AF-9C0B-E8E7C61B465D.jpeg

This is my post for the Steemit Resolution Contest located here
https://steemit.com/steemitresolution/@thatsweeneyguy/2018-steemitresolution-challenge-make-a-change-and-spread-some-love

This cartoon might be a little silly, but I made it real quick to try to illustrate what I would like to give to the Steemit community. I am a community organizer, a program/project designer (not the tech kind but the people kind), a creative person. I am not super experienced in Steemit yet, but my skills can map on to just about anything.

Pretty much every project has a “juggling cats” sensation. Since I am but a baby minnow, and still have a lot to learn , I think I can help out by just volunteering to do some of the necessary minutae (the tiny cats being juggled by other cats) so project developers can focus on the big picture a little more easily, and hence juggle maybe fewer cats? Or that is the idea. Maybe I should have shown a minnow juggling tiny cats i dont know! :). Point is, I am here to learn, and I learn by doing.. so volunteering here and there is a perfect way for me to both learn and contribute.

Ideas:
I am an idea person. I thrive in a brainstorm! :) So I imagine the longer I am here, the more ideas I will have for Steemit. Right now I am interested in the art and writing community, and am a huge fan of the contests I see. I also really like MSP Radio and I am very interested in steemitgigs. Maybe in 2018 I will come up with a fun contest of my own! (For now I have some high priority glamerous goals like: learn how to use Markdown)

Mental Health:
I would like to help further the psychology/mental health community here, because it seems like there is amazing potential to help people through this platform. (I am in the mental health feild, will be licensed in 2018). I don’t even know yet how this skillset will be useful here, but I have a feeling I can apply myself in this area. To this end, I plan to gain a better understanding of blockchain , and the many ways it is already being used for social good. I want to deepen my understanding and if I learn enough, contribute to the development of apps, etc, that can contribute to social good here on Steemit.

Recruiting:
I know a ton of creative people that I can bring in, some of whom are successful on other social media platforms. I want to hold meetups in my area to bring in artists and innovative people I know, assist them with the learning curve, and build a support community. I suppose I could even vlog about these..

Personal goals:
For myself, I just want to rise to the challenge of creating good content while staying true to myself. My creativity has always struggled against the pressures of earning money. I want to get more comfortable following my own internal creativity compass, even if others don’t totally get what I am doing sometimes. The value I see that adding to steemit is that I strive to resist homogeny. While trends are actually kind of fun sometimes, its good to have our own spin on things, so that the feed isnt just an echo chamber. I followed my own instincts and posted about zines recently, despite not finding much about zines anywhere else on Steemit. That post has been my most successful one so far!

My weirdness = your asset
I don’t want to just network in the feilds I am used to.. I want to cross-pollinate with people in totally different feilds. So my final goal is to just become visible enough to people in lots of different areas so that we can hopefully exchange ideas and influence each other in amazing ways.

Sort:  

So be it =namaste @pordlo I will be attentive to your health publication Mint as a topic that I want to learn

Thanks a lot @vidafitnessfeliz! Your vote for a full entry (with both bonuses) will hit your post soon!

Hey cool post :)

Come check out the challenge, and let us know you plan to make 2018 awesome!

Love it!!

So happy you are listening to MSP Waves Radio!

I listen almost every day, i really like it!

Well Nice Post. Keep Em coming every day. That is the way. Best Wishes and Happy Holidays ... God Bless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58251.65
ETH 2369.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37