I WILL ALWAYS STAND FOR THE FLAG

in #steemitpride8 years ago

I will always stand for the Flag of the United States of America because this is my right.  I do not agree with the protest but this is America, we the people can protest in this country.  We can voice our opinions, yes even against the President of the United States without being found dead.  This is a free country and many have died to keep it that way.  I know many of you will not agree with me and this too is your right.  Americans are spoiled because they can go anywhere in the United States and long as they don't break any laws it is good, right, no wrong there are still places some Americans can't go but we don't want to talk about that, we don't want to acknowledge the fact.  We are free, I am free but as a black woman raising two sons, I found that there were rules my sons had to learn in order to survive in the U.S.  No it is not the same for all people and this is why there is a protest.  If you are a person of color,  you do not have to be African American only, you are perceived as aggressive.  This my friend is racism, you are pre-judging another merely by their look.  So you see I understand the protest but I just think I, myself would have had another method.  His method works for him because of the media coverage, because of the Big name driving the protest.  But America you have to admit it is a peaceful protest, no one is dead.  Those are my thoughts, what are yours? 

Sort:  

cldstars,
I felt the same way for most of my life. However the last few years I have looked at the USA and see the corruption and realize it is not the USA I grew up in. As a Christian I believe we need to place God first. I look at all the ungodly things the USA is doing and I cannot condone it by supporting it's symbol. Many Christian believers believe that the flag is an idol. The other main problem is your contention that we are free to go where we please. That is true at the moment, but there are laws in place that can rescind that privilege by simple order of the President. If you are willing to look at a few things let me know and I'll get back to you. Otherwise one freedom they want you to use is for you to keep your blinders on.

Yes, I would be glad to, I always try to increase my knowledge. Thank you for reading my piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55