Steemit Poetry Slam 2017 Entry -- The Grounded Man

https://tomluongo.files.wordpress.com/2017/06/the-grounded-man.mp3

The Grounded Man

An imperfect seal around the door.
The cold comes in a paler
whitish-brown creating footprints
not made by men, probably

Rats or opossums. I sit
shaving. I can’t remember
now, it must have
been a long time

Ago. A crack in the window
jamb. A shack, not more
than a burnt speck
against the low

Sun on the hill. Where
did I get this knife?
A man came by looking
for his pet

Rock. I couldn’t help
him. Near sundown I approached
a tree and started building
again.

This place is nothing like The Maze,
a way out is always in sight.

Sort:  

Clean! I think I just listened to an audiobook you narrated, lol. Seriously, you got a broadcast voice.

I love the imagery. Felt like I was there in some desolate dustbowl with you, just wishing I could help dude find his rock.

Thanks so much for participating! Looking forward to more.

Impressive. I would agree and say you have a wonderful voice and I would listen to you read books for hours.

That is awfully kind of you to say. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70782.07
ETH 3815.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44