Miss. Delicious #15: Going for brunch at morning and midnight in London.

in #steemitphotochallenge8 years ago (edited)

Duck & Waffle



Duck & Waffle is located on the 40th floor of the London Heron Tower. It's the highest restaurant in the UK at 185 meters from ground level. If you've read my previous post, you'll remember my introduction to Sushi Samba which is located on the 38th and 39th floor.

Its hard to believe, but Duck & Waffle will serve you even at 2:30 am after you leave your late night parties. The name of the restaurant is curious, here you will find dishes normally eaten at brunch, in particular their speciality dish called Duck & Waffle. To me, Duck & Waffle sounds like a name from another planet.


All pictures below other than those marked with sources are of my own photography

One day, I met my friends at this restaurant at half past two! I thought with it being so late, everybody would be sleeping, but it seems I was wrong, as everywhere I look, lights are ablaze.



I drank a bit of alcohol at the party I just came from so the elevator felt like sitting in a rocket as it zoomed up to the 40th floor.



As it's midnight, our appetites are not very big so we ordered the Duck & Waffle for each of us. On the top of the duck there is a fried egg. It's quite hard to describe the taste. Its definitely very fresh and the aroma is wonderful. The Confit de Canard is crispy and yummy, if you pour some honey over it, it'll taste both sweet and a bit salty. Some orange juice on the side and this makes for a perfect breakfast.. Except it's in the middle of the night!



Source

It goes without saying that if you visit London and are stuck finding somewhere to eat at night, then I highly recommend Duck & Waffle. Not only does it serve throughout the night, it's also got the best night views of the entire city.


Website.
40th Floor, Heron Tower,110 Bishopsgate,London, EC2N 4AY
+44 20 3640 7310
Business hours: 7 days 24 hours, don’t forget to book online.
Average spend: £26-40


The Breakfast Club

Unlike Duck & Waffle, The Breakfast Club are unambiguous about what kind of meal they serve - Breakfast! This little restaurant is located in Soho, London. It's such a busy restaurant that there are often very long queues outside and the seats are always packed. I think there are about 10 tables so you'll probably always need to wait to be seated. However, the bright yellow storefront is very attractive and makes me feel like I need brunch immediately.


The most popular dishes below:
THE HALF MONTY
Bacon, sausage, eggs, beans, tomato and toasted multigrain bloomer £8.00
EGGS ROYALE
Smoked salmon on toasted English muffin with hollandaise £9.20
Eggs Benedict...



I ordered a pancake on top of the above and I really couldn't eat anymore, so I took it home.

Website.
D’Arblay Street W1F 8EU
020 7434 2571
Average price: £16.5

Some furry friends are waiting for cake at home..They are all cake addicted.



Alright, this is what the pancake originally looks like lol…



Source


Steemit Photo Challenge 16:



Taken with Iphone6s plus.
Special for #steemitphotochallenge


Duck & Waffle餐厅位于伦敦Heron Tower大厦第40层,据说是全英最高的餐厅,距离地面足足185米。 如果你看过我之前的贴,你会记得我之前介绍过这座大厦38和39层的日料。不过你不会相信,在半夜2点半聚会结束,肚子饿得时候,Duck & Waffle会为你敞开大门,不过你听到这餐厅的名字,就会猜到它很不寻常。在这里,你会找到一盘像早餐的招牌菜----Duck & Waffle,可是鸭子和华夫好像是从2个星球来的,没错,就是这样神奇的组合。我和朋友约在餐厅见面,时间已经是半夜2点半了,我以为全世界都睡了,等电梯的时候我发现,并没有,到处灯火辉煌。聚会的时候喝了点小酒,电梯急速上升到40层的过程,我感觉我坐上了火箭飘起来。因为是半夜,不能吃太多会不消化。我们各点了一盘鸭子和华夫饼,盘中鸭子上盖着一个圆圆的鸡蛋。好吧,我很难形容这三样东西一同在嘴里的感觉,但是我只能说,真的很好吃,油封鸭腿吃起来好酥好香,浇上杯子里的蜂蜜,味道有甜有咸,配上早餐必备的橘子汁,感觉棒极了。ops...这是夜宵。我只能说,下次来伦敦,没有夜宵吃,就来找可以俯瞰全伦敦夜景的鸭子和华夫吧。强烈推荐!营业时间:7天24小时,记得一定要提前预订。人均消费:£26-40. 不像Duck & Waffle,这家餐厅的名字很直接的告诉大家,他是做什么的。这家餐厅在伦敦唐人街的soho,很热闹的地方。看到这个店面这么亮的黄色,真的立刻就像进去吃brunch。店子很小,只有不到10张桌子,不管什么时间来,都需要排队。下面这几样是他们最受欢迎:班尼迪克蛋。 最后的蓝莓pancake吃不下了,打包带走了。一些猫人可能在家等着呢。£16.5人均消费:£16.5. 好吧,这是pancake原本的样子…

The story of a sugar-coated lollipop and the quadrangle courtyard.

I had a sweet dream with yummy sushi.

Sort:  

Duck and waffle sure is a strange combination.
A suggestion taking photos out of glass window: press the lens (camera) or phone against the glass as much as you can to eliminate the reflection from inside.
Not a professional photographer :-) just someone who likes to shoot with my phone but I learn this from somewhere.

thanks ace108 for the tip! I actually meant to get the reflection in the window to show the colours and lights inside the elevator!
༼✿ @sweetsssj

I think if you want more reflection then an angle to the glass (not parallel) may be better but who am i to say. I'm not professional. :-)

I'll bear that in mind, thank you!

You're welcome

这照片拍得真漂亮,来自专业摄影师的作品,灯光用得非常好,赞:)
Nice work

谢谢 @birds90,我不是专业的,主要餐厅光线很好。我很喜欢你的摄影作品:)

Your posts are consistently incredible.

I must ask:

What city(cities?) are you based in primarily?

When you're not steeming, what is it you do to earn money?

Keep up your awesome level of 35/10. :)

Thanks @faddat! I'm based in Xi'an, Beijing and London mostly and I probably spend about half of my time in China and half in the UK. I'm currently involved in international trade and in the past i've run my own store on various e-commerce platforms. These days with the amount of time I spend on steemit, you could almost call me full time steemit!
༼✿ @sweetsssj

Not certain what you're doing, but congratulations on your success!

The duck and waffle looks fantastic!

I am also interested in the answers to these questions. I have a couple of thoughts about this, but it's just my thoughts :)

西餐就是做的漂亮,学习了 :) 我很喜爱你的小猫咪,表情特可爱

谢谢你 @elfkitchen,你的食物也很有特色跟创意呢:)

Absolutely gorgeous post! As always, your pics are just amazing!

Thank you so much sweetie @gringalicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65988.06
ETH 3414.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67