SteemitPhotoChallengeEntry: Purely PacifiicsteemCreated with Sketch.

I wanted to submit a few photos for the #Steemitphotochallenge themed oceans/seas, which is a theme that's close to my heart. I know I'm not alone when I say that there is an instant and magical effect of being by the open sea, a calm washes over me and I feel the vastness of the ocean and the awesome power it possesses.

My photos are from my recent trips to Australia, Fiji and Japan so my submissions are an homage to the Pacific Ocean. The photos are all a part of unique firsts for me, my first time in each country, my first time diving (overcoming major fear) and discovering the Pacific in a whole new light.

The Great Barrier Reef in Australia

I've never dived before and it was my first time using an underwater camera. I nearly gave up even trying to do this because I was so scared but so happy I didn't give up. It's an incredible world down there!

IMG_9051.JPG

Sunset in Fiji

This one captures sunset and local village children playing in the sea which is their playground. I love the colors of the sunset and the sea.

IMG_2342.JPG

Dramatic Drops in Japan

This is a gorgeous drop in the Izu Peninsula in Japan with black cliffs created by volcanic eruptions juxtaposed against turquoise sea.

IMG_6274.JPG

Thanks @jamtaylor for this opportunity to share and @berniesanders for sponsoring!

Sort:  

Gorgeous photos! Did you take the cliff photo from a helicopter or something? It looks like an angle from above..

Thanks! It was actually just me climbing over rocks and pointing my camera down! 😱

Well those shots are certainly worth the rock hike and risk on your life ;))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60843.73
ETH 3406.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57