Steemitphotochallenge #32: "The Muskoka Hope Tree" (Entry #3)steemCreated with Sketch.

Taken with my LG 3G cell phone camera on October 1st, 2016. This was taken in Port Sydney, Muskoka, Ontario Canada. The tree is referred to as the "Hope Tree" by the local residents and has enjoyed some celebrity status because it is widely photographed due to its aesthetic beauty and unique shape. It is located on the banks of the North Muskoka River, just before the river feeds into Mary's Lake. This area was settled in 1861.

The colouration, you are seeing is due to the time of year. This tree is a deciduous tree and it's getting ready to drop its leaves for the winter. I caught it, just at the beginning of the process.

It reminds me of a meticulously sculpted Bonsai tree, crafted by the hands of Mother Nature and aided by the wind.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I have. Thanks for taking a look. 

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

I'm going to have to fine you for making me homesick!

@kus-knee ( The Old Dog)

I apologize!!! LOL
Do you know or remember this particular tree @kus-knee?

I don't know that particular tree but the name Muskoka tugs at my heart.

It is beautiful, open, green space. Lot's of rocks, water, trees and blue skies. We take this luxury for granted, when we live in Canada.

Nice shot and lovely tree! Like you said, it instantly reminds me of a Bonsai tree, just bigger lol. Good to see you in the contest and I followed you :)

Thank you @old-guy-photos, I really appreciate your support and comments. I will follow you also. :)

That tree does have a beautiful form. But it seems so vulnerable to an ice storm or prolonged rain that saturates the soil, as it's leaning out over the river bank. Enjoy that tree while you can - and I'm glad you got it's portrait!

Thanks! You would think it wouldn't survive but if I had to guess, it is pushing at least 100 years old. There was no marks on it from pruning or natural limb loss, that was visible. Remarkable, really.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97