Athena Shines on the Parthenon

 

Sometimes the greatest things in life happen completely by accident, or do they?  In April 2016, I finally got my chance to see Athens.  The Parthenon was what I wanted to see most in the city, and it had been a desire of mine since elementary school.  Since I only had one full day, I rose early, made my itinerary, and tried to see as many ancient sites as possible.  In the morning, I was erroneously informed by a tour guide that the Acropolis closed at sundown.  Hearing that news, I decided that I would save the best for last.  Little did I know that this ancient site would actually close at 15:00.  As I finished my self-guided tour of the Ancient Agora at 14:00, a figurative voice told me go directly to the Acropolis.  For once in my life, I followed an order with haste.

By 14:40, I had paid my entrance fee and submitted the Acropolis.  By the time I reached the Parthenon, the site's security personnel began yelling for all visitors to begin making their exit.  They were angry.  The recent financial crisis had taken its toll on them.  After 15:00, they wouldn't be paid a Euro cent.   Regardless of their plight, I did not immediately comply.  I began snapping as many pictures as I could; I hoped that some of them would turn out well.   

As I sat down to dinner that evening, I decided to look at some of my pictures from the day.  I sure hoped that I had managed to come away with some good shots, and I figured that I would have some serious photo editing to complete.  When I saw the photo posted above, I could barely believe my eyes - "What a shot!" I thought.

I have neither used a filter nor edited this photo in any way, shape, or form.  Athena, a goddess of inspiration, clearly had my back.

Sort:  

Would be a dream to visit. Atleast you got this amazing photo. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you, my friend! Now is the time to go to Athens. My trip was inexpensive, and the Greeks were very appreciative of the business they received.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50