SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry: The Worker

in #steemitphotochallenge6 years ago (edited)

I'm not sure this qualifies as a portrait, or is in any way emotive to you, but I'm posting it anyway.

This is a photo of an anonymous worker supplying the shops on the Oude Gracht in Utrecht, The Netherlands, as seen in an alley just 20 meters away from where the shiny, happy people are strolling past expensive shop facades to get their daily consumer fix:


Praktica B200, Sigma 80-200 @100, Ilford FP4+

And now, three bonus portraits, at no extra cost.

Down and Out; photographed in the city centre of Enschede, The Netherlands. Emotive? Portrait? You be the judge of that:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 55mm, ISO1000, f2.8, 1/160s

Here's his face:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 100mm, ISO1000, f2.8, 1/60s

The next one I shot in Groningen, The Netherlands. Contrary to what I usually do, this is semi-posed, in the sense that I asked her to stand still for a bit. To me, her face seems to express that she is unsure of what to make of me:


Praktica B200, 50mm, Ilford FP4+

Thanks for watching this nice post!

Sort:  

Cool pictures

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 13 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

I love that picture! The man behind the scene... the one doing his business. It speaks volumes. Thanks for sharing!

Great older film works (or are you still shooting some today?) Used to load some Illford into the 4x5. Fun to play with.
The man behind the scenes is a cool capture. Besides the 'story', the grain always adds something to the look as well.
As for "What DOES this man want"?....pretty much speaks for itself.

I still shoot film occasionally, Ilford FP4+ is still in production, but the ones on film in the post are older photos, about 30 years old.

As for "What DID that man want?"; I wanted a photo. And take her on a trip to France, to be honest.

Did she go to France with you? Re-reading my comment, that might have sounded a bit more innuendo than intended. Supposed to be more of a " what IS this character behind the camera up to"? ...said with a bit of harummpff.

I got that, no worries, as the Bruces say. And yes, she did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81