Steemit Photo Challenge 57 - Orient - Entry 1 - Todaiji


Todaiji

The Eastern Great Temple is one of the largest wooden structures in the world and held on to the title of Largest until 1998. Wikipedia source

In the photo above is the main hall which houses a truly immense statue of the Buddha (14.98m tall, 28m across the shoulders) as well as several other deities. I particularly liked the framing of the cherry trees which are just about to bloom, a week or two later and they would be in full bloom, the temple would likely be absolutely packed with visitors too!

@jamtaylor's, the first such contest on steem Steemit Photo Challenge details and theme post
Come join the fun!

Sort:  

Great photo, buddy. I have been to Todaiji several times. I like it very much. I just wish it wasn't so busy there. Looks like you went in late winter, eh? The plum blossoms are just starting to bloom.

Thanks @dbooster! I went in very early spring, March 28 to be exact. Yes, it's always crazy busy with people and deer too!

haha those damn fat deer. But I enjoy them. I actually prefer some of the other temples and shines in Nara because of how busy Todaiji is. It seems like most tourists make a beeline from the train station to Todaiji and then back. But I can also understand, because Todaiji is amazing. Did you get any photos of the great Buddha inside?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59836.36
ETH 2365.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47