SteemitPhotoChallenge No 20 - Stark Sky

in #steemitphotochallenge8 years ago (edited)

Not your standard shot of the graceful sun slinking beneath molten seas or birthing majestically from purple mountains. Oh no this is the Scottish sun, rising obliquely from behind the wooded hills. See the stark, crystalline, frost laden skies that gladden the heart of every Scotsman in winter

Taken on the west coast of Scotland at the Heads of Ayr farm with my galaxy s7 smartphone, no processing.

Minutes later, the still rising sun casting long shadows of the trees but wait.. what's going on with those sheep?

Sort:  

I love the lighting and setting of these photos. I am having hard time taking pictures in the shadow and lighting is hard to balance. any advise on how to have good lighting in the shadow, when i use flashlight, its just not showing the crisp looks of photo.. any advise ?

If you have a reasonable smartphone or decent camera I would switch off the flash. Mostly your auto mode will get you some good results. If not you will have to dive into the manual settings and thats a bit more involved!

And thank you!

My favourite part of your sunset is the exit sign, and I mean that it really adds something (makes me think 'this is the end of life, there is the exit'). Are those fake sheep?

I liked the exit sign too! Originally I was half tempted to darken it out but then decided it was in. It was a farm and bizarrely at the front of it they had these plastic sheep. Behind them was a gorilla but that was just getting too surreal!

Nothing better than a crisp blue sky on a cold morning with the promise of sunshine.

It was exactly that! Crisp and freezing!!!

I love days like that - if dressed appropriately - so refreshing! No kilts in the wintertime okay? It's way too cold. Even for a girl. Trust me, I wore a kilt for four years in high school. Black Watch. brrrrrrrrr.

Lol, yes. Absolutely no kilts! That's a summertime activity!! Hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68