SteemitPhotoChallenge #17 - Entry 2 - Flores island - Azores, PortugalsteemCreated with Sketch.

I know it will seem a little biased, but Azores islands must be one of the most beautiful places on Earth.


Canon PowerShot SX100 IS ISO 100 F/5 1/800seg

I took this photo on Flores island, that together with Corvo Island (in the background), forms the western group of the Azores archipelago. It lies within the North American Plate, and is the westernmost point of Portugal, and of the European continent as well.

Flores is the Portuguese word for "flowers", and this island has plenty of "flores".

Sort:  

I disagree having been there - Maui, Hawaii is x10 times more beautiful ;) Hee-hee!

Hum...i can accept that..but Azores is about 2 hours fly from here, so it's better and cheaper!! WON!! ;))

Maui is 15 hours from me and very expensive. LOST!! :)

By the way, and because i got curious, where have you been in the Azores? São Miguel? :)

Yes. São Miguel Island. The Green Island - same as Maui (also known as The Garden Island) ;)

I googled Maui, and it seems really a wonderful place. In the Azores islands, we still can find the traditional way of life and rural tourism. Recently some low-cost companies start flying to the Azores, so I'm afraid that place turns into a massive tourist business and loose his best essence. I like São Miguel, but I preferred Faial and Flores. Still lacking Pico and Corvo, guess I'll love that also!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62548.40
ETH 3435.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51