Steemit Photo Challenge #69

in #steemitphotochallenge7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemit! As I sat down to access my morning here at @caffetto, I did a quick check for the #steemitphotochallenge deadline. I've been meaning to enter Musician Portraits all week and as it turns out, I've got about an hour before the cut off. Here are some of my favorites.


I shot @jezebel just a few weeks ago for her upcoming album, "Deathfolk Magic". I met her years ago, completely amazed by her performance opening for Slim Cessna's Auto Club, one of my favorite bands. Her new project, Bye Bye Banshee is a dark folk focus on death and the connotations that surround the end of life. This witchy shoot took place on a cold, rainy afternoon in Rosemount, MN at an abandoned munitions factory. 


This portrait of Goodbye Soundscape was shot when I first began cutting my teeth in photography. It's old, but I wanted to include it because it holds a special place in my heart. It was one of the earliest examples of finding my voice as a photographer. The band offered to pay me [...possibly one of my first paid gigs] and I remember feeling like I kind of nailed it. Emo was big, and I thought this was a well executed, pensive portrait that represented the band well.


Lastly, this shot of Jay Munly was taken during a recent Slim Cessna's Auto Club show at the Turf Club in St. Paul, MN. @jezebel also opened for them this night as well. Always one of my favorite bands to see live. We'd brought @boxcar along, too. Capturing an imagine like this under near impossible lighting conditions [...especially with so much movement during their always theatrical performances] makes this one of my favorite music photos I've ever taken.

Thanks so much for reading and thanks to @jamtaylor for hosting the #steemitphotochallenge. I post often. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

This is all so neat!!!! (As always!) There’s always a sense of dark magic and film noir in your shoots guess that’s why am such a huge fan!⭐️

Thank you @artedellavita! This was a really fun shoot despite the cold rain. I'm working on @jezebel's EP design this weekend and some new photos from this shoot.

You and @vermillionfox are just full of straight up awesomeness! I can't wait to see what awesomeness and then some Guthrie grows up to be!!!!!! <3

A good experience @kommienezuspadt. Thanks for share

I agree with you,
thank you very much for sharing your experience @ kommienezuspadt

Thank you for sharing your experience with me sharing my experience @semy! :)

Great shots dude, that one of @jezebel especially. I didn't know you shot many musicians too. Its probably one of my favorite things to shoot, especially for the first few years I was getting into photography that's basically all I shot.

As always, the kind words mean so much coming from such a great photographer @davekavanagh! Band photography is so tough. I do have a lot more of it that I've shot, but other than Steemit, I don't often share it.

Wow, amazing photigraphy,

@bungaterakhir thank you for the kind words!

Just checked out Slim Cessna's Auto Club and Jezebel on the youtube--I like!

SCAC are the best. @jezebel is really maturing as a musician. She's in her stride right now @chriskautzer. Thanks for checking them both out and commenting.

Great shots mate! Yeah concerts are always a difficult one for lighting and movement. You get what they have.

Thank you very much @alevaskye! Yeah. I appreciate band and live event photography so much as a medium. Every time I've shot a show, I've had to deal with serious lighting challenges.

Posts and stories that attract friends, I upvote and resteem

Thanks for the resteem @rafka90!

both friends, I also have new posts friends please support him

That first shot is great!! I must confess that I thought the columns were headstones at first glance, but that goes well with the title. Nice work!

Thanks @fotosdenada! That's totally fine with me, lol. That's a perfect compliment to the artist because her music is almost all about death.

Great photography. @jezebel album cover image matches the name of the album perfectly :)

Thank you @stevejhuggett! I'm excited. I'm working on the graphic design and layout of her upcoming EP so I get to edit a few more of her this weekend.

Cool, good luck :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81