Steemitphotochallenge Entry #3 (Sunrise)

This was shot in the panhandle of Northern Idaho. This is Lake Coeur D' Alene at sunrise. I stopped the car because I was pretty stoked about how the light was making the fog look. I also liked the angles of the stairs and the dock here. This was on the road to the Wolf Lodge, where one can get a great steak dinner!

I used a Nikon D40, I don't remember the lens,  and a graduated neutral density filter. I edited it in iphoto and chose the sepia tone because it created some cool drama in the sky. 

Sort:  

Great picture, ! What lighting setting and use any special filter or flash light setting ? I need to figure a way to shoot sunrise and sunset.. any advise?

Hey thanks! I usually use aperture priority at like f8-11 or so. I set ISO to the lowest setting, and since the lens is closed up at that aperture, you will need to rest the camera on something or use a tripod. I love to use a graduated neutral density filter. They are basically a piece of clear plastic or glass that is clear on the bottom and then fades to dark at the top that you put in front of your lens.. For sunsets, it helps even out the light so that the foreground and the sun are more evenly lit and is more similar to how you see it in person. A wide angle lens is a plus too. I have a Sigma 10-20. Its ok, but not the best. Hope this helps.

Thank you for the information. The Aperture will automatically set the time and second.. if we do not have tripod, then we have to hold it, any technique of not to have blurring shots without tripod. ?

Yes, the camera will calculate the shutter speed. If you are shooting into the sun you wont need a tripod. It will be a fast shutter speed. But after sunset, when the light is really killer and sometimes dark, without a tripod you can lean your body aginst something take a deep breath in and pull the trigger on the exhale. Elbows in,

very nice view... 'serenity' will be a great caption for this shot.

Amazing sunrise! I can feel very peaceful!

Thanks. Glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57711.87
ETH 3013.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35