7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - North American Friday - William Carson Manison

in #steemitphotochallenge7 years ago (edited)

The William Carson Manison 2.jpg

The William Carson manison in Eureka, California built by William Carson to support survive his employees during Great Depression, nowadays used as a private club. Before it used to be in blue color to match the sky, after it was used to film some horror movie (or some other) it was painted green to match the lawn (the remark of my pen friend). Photo taken in 2005.

Sort:  

thx for sharing

That mansion looks amazing! It looks like it was lifted straight from a painting! The details are gorgeous and the gothic architecture looks so sharp. Would definitely pass as a haunted house for sure!

I thought the same when I saw it. My first reactin was that it came straight from a horror movie. Only after I blurted it out , my friends explained me what a buliding it is. Luckily they don't charge royalties for publishing its photos like Sydney Opera does.

Sydney Opera charges a royalty just for publishing a photo of it? How would they enforce it, what with social media?

I don't know- I think it is only for night photos, and they say because of the costs of the lightnig, or something like that. It is what one photographer said in his video.

Ohhh hmmm is it for a paid publication like a magazine though?

The photographer who said this is Jeff Cable, and as far as I remember he said it is written on their website, but I guess it is only for publishing that they claim royalties not for personally taken for personal use.
Ah, here it is (it took me a while to find it), what they approve and what they don't: https://www.sydneyoperahouse.com/media/filming-at-the-sydney-opera-house.html

Ahh yeah that makes sense since it's commercially licensed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30