Steemit photo challenge #12 Entries - Original Work

So it's pretty cool that the latest Steemit photo challenge is about street photography, if you are interested in this week's rules check out the post here

There are some pretty specific rules this round, one of the major ones is that the photos have to be in black and white. I have recently started a series about my street photography but the problem is that most of my shots are in color. However, when I do street photography with my film camera, it's almost always in black and white. So it's kind of cool that I can enter this round as well, and with some of my film photos as my entries!

The other specific rule that was mentioned in the round announcement was that portraits are not going to be considered in this category. The post states "if there are faces in the shots, they need to be minor OR somewhat obscured naturally (not with photoshop blurring etc)" A very interesting twist! It seems like they really want to see the city, not the people of the city. Well, I don't know how I'm gonna fare in this round since I do tend to focus on humanity more than architecture or the city itself, but I'm gonna submit anyhow, and so should you! So here are my 3 picks for this week's Steemit photo challenge.

My first entry this week. The above photo was taken on Ilford Delta 3200 black and white film, using a Mamiya 645AFD medium format camera. It was taken on Vancouver's famous Granville street and it's actually one of my most favorite photos of all time.

From the same roll of film and on the same street. This was just across from the street from the previous photo. I thought it looked so crazy how this chain barricade was just absolutely covered in this caution tape. I don't know why, it didn't seem to make a lot of sense, but then again lots of things don't in the city.

My final entry for the photo challenge. Again same roll of film, same camera, same day, and yup, same street! This is a pretty common sight outside of the skytrain station on Granville and Georgia street. The pigeons tend to gather there and lots of times you will see homeless people and others feeding them and just watching them gather. It can make for some really incredible shots, and I feel like it's a pretty solid representation of the city streets.

Bonus Image!

I was considering posting this as one of my entries but I wasn't sure if it would be considered to violate the portrait rule this round, so I thought I'd just toss it in as an extra cause again, same film, same camera, same day, same street! Haha.

Hope you like my entries for this round, and as always if you like the post feel free to toss me an up vote, you know I always appreciate them! Be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to keep up with our travels around the world and see new original content all the time.

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

Great post, i like it! And I hope you will take the top places in #steemitphotochallenge

nice shots! good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31