Steemit Photo Challenge #54 / Entry 2 / Portrait of a live Robber Fly

IMG_20170912_075658_783.jpg

We were climbing in the Sayadri over-turing rocks in search of crystals when I spotted this little fly. No bigger than a 1mm I was ready to go with my macro set-up. Robber Flies are incredibly diverse with beautiful compound eyes. This one sports a pair of emerald gems.

It was the forat image I posted on steemit that gathered any traction back when I have zero followers (only 3 months ago).

Hope you enjoyed this image.

Equipment:
Canon 700d.
Canon STM 18-55mm Reversed.
Vintage Flash.
Cereal Box Diffuser.

Cotton xXx

Sort:  

unfuckingbelievable what you made there. Bravo!

What a picture! I would love to be taking pictures like this. I need to get a decent Macro set up.

Best option in my opinion is to buy a reverse ring and an old m42 lens with manual aperture. I used the kit lens for this image, so you definitely don't need to invest much. Flash and homemade diffuse box is the most important pieces of equipment. My flash is an old one from the 90's. Worked fine on my canon but took about 20 seconds to rebuff after use. The neewer basic flash gun which is like $25 max works a charm. Youtube advice for building a defuse box or check out Thomas Shahan. I basically just copied him. He is my hero :)

Your write up is impressive. Mad respect for sticking through all the hardships, many people would have quit much earlier. Resteemed.

Thank you @video-master. Yes. Many people I know have tried and given up with steemit. One of those people made $300 on his first post. On his second he made $2 and got annoyed and has given up. Hasn't even claimed his earnings from the first post. Thanks for the resteem!

Wow i like this....very captivating. The eyes.

nice photo.

cool as , keep em coming

Nice pics..!!!! 👍👍👍👍

This picture is really sick! Congrats!

Wow.... That amazing picture. I really really like it

Perfect Macro...very good Job :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65230.32
ETH 3477.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37