Steemit Photo Challenge #42 - Ralph The Fly

in #steemitphotochallenge7 years ago (edited)

This is Ralph.


His hobbies include twisting his head, scratching his behind, flying away, and flying back. Ralph drove me crazy today as he didn't seem to want his photo taken. Luckily there was something irresistible about that plant that kept him coming back.


4556465464.JPG


My trusty Roundflash didn't work so well in this case. It is a very bulky product and when it hit the plant, Ralph disappeared. I came back later with my more discreet RayFlash adapter. Ralph insisted I take hundreds of photos while he danced around. Ralph didn't like being in sharp focus for more than about half a second but luckily I managed to get a couple of sharp frames.

666766.JPG


Nikon D750. Nikkor 105mm VR "Micro". Godox TT685. RayFlash adapter.

Best of luck to everyone, and thanks to @jamtaylor and @berniesanders for keeping this awesome competition alive.

Sort:  

I'm afraid ralph's total lifespan might not be so long. Great pictures though ;)

Poor Ralph. He's gotten old since I took that photo yesterday.

That is a coca leaf, isn't it?

I've no idea. It was a little green bush in my fathers garden :)

Super crisp! Well produced. I did a gig at a museum once where we were scientifically capturing their insect collection using a variety of equipment, doing stacked focusing, and compositing multiple exposures to get extreme detail of each and every bit of these little guys.

Really impressed at this image given the difficulty of capturing such images!

Cheers. Focus stacking is something I never tried. Maybe some time. I wonder if I would have the patience.

We used a rig called a stackshot that made the exposures between the two points that you determine. Images were then stitched. Was pretty cool tech. Expensive though!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.37 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

He may have to just settle for posthumous appreciation, but he's pretty darn adorable. Great shot!

Hey thanks very much! Yes, poor Ralfs days are numbered.

He will live on in our hearts. <3

Hey condra, I have to scratch myself after watching the photo :P --__- . I want to focus on newcomers but also on people that are very active. My plan is to build up a community with active users to support each other and creating a curation trail. Looking forward to curating more effectively, would you be interested?
Upvoted and following, greetings Lena!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64