[Candid portrait photography] Which of these two shots do you think better conveys the magic of the moment?

in #steemitphotochallenge7 years ago (edited)

On the train from Maastricht to Brussels, I noticed an elegant French lady in a black hat and dress sitting on the opposite seat. I probably wouldn't dare take a photo of her on her own, but once I noticed a cute little child in the neighbouring compartment look my way, I knew that the juxtaposition is just too good not to at least try to capture it. Still, I regret a bit that I didn't manage to show also the mysterious lady's hands, in which she held an open passport, that she intermittently used as a fan.

Finally, I ended up taking two slightly different shots:

2017_0602_16042900.jpg

On this one, she probably senses being photographed, but pretends not to notice, while the child is being thrown into the air, laughing ecstatically.

2017_0602_16044400.jpg

In the second take, she finally acknowledges the presence of my camera, but looks more with amused curiosity than hostility. The child seems to be at least equally curious.

I have subsequently asked the lady if she minds that I took a few photos of her, and she said she doesn't. However, I didn't go as far as get her name or address where I could send it.

Maybe you can help me decide with your comments / votes which of these two shots do you think conveys a stronger atmosphere of the moment?

Sort:  

Do you typically ask people for permission? Or better to ask forgiveness? I've never offered to send anyone the photos, curious if that's something you do often as well. Great great shot by the way! Love her expression here, and of course the baby's peekin' over!

Excellent question @chrissymchavez ! My rule of thumb is: shoot first, ask later. If people are ok with it, wonderful. If not, I sincerely apologise, say that I'm learning how to do photography and will of course delete the shot (and I do actually delete it). I've offered to send people photos a few times, but not all too often. Then there's the grey zone when things happen so quickly that people either don't notice me, or it's hard to say if they approve or disapprove, because we're both on the move. In those cases, I have no explicit permission, so there is always the risk that somebody will complain later, invoking a right to privacy or copyright etc. However, that goes for most candid street photographers. Most people are generally friendly and cool. I have maybe one negative reaction a week (but then again I don't take photos every day). Only a couple of times did someone seem really irritated and actually forced me to delete the photo then and there in front of them. Still, since you ask, this dilemma - asking for permission or not - is always at the back of my mind. Consequently, when I'm not in the right "mood", it can even dissuade me from taking a certain shot or just leaving the camera home for that day...

Thanks for the indepth answer! It helps to hear how others deal with this interesting part of street/candid photography

That's a very nice story about the process of photographic creation. Second image is better in my opinon, because you've got an eye contact with both.

thanks for feedback!

I like first one

feedback appreciated. thx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50