The Steemit Name Challenge - @valth

A few days ago my fellow Norwegian Steemian @fredrikaa nominated be for the Steemit Name Challenge, and this has been a pretty fun challenge to read from other people who have participated, so I figured it would be time for me to do my very first challenge here on Steemit.

Tell us in a post how you chose the current Steemit username you have. The story behind it.

The reason why I chose the name @valth is actually pretty random. When I signed up for Steemit.com I did not fully understand everything about the blockchain Steem or the app Steemit, so I figured that I wanted to create a new handle that I had not used anywhere before, just in case I wanted to stay anonymous. Fast forward 18 months, and I'm not really close to anonymous anymore, but I'm still happy that I chose a new handle.

Anyway, I got the name itself because I was playing World of Warcraft at the time while I signed up for Steemit, on my druid named Valthair. That felt a bit long and complex, so I shortened it to Valth.

valthair.jpg

Here's the WoW character that was my inspiration for the name.

Tell us your real name!

I have posted my real name quite a few times already, so at this point I'm not really even close to being anonymous anymore. My real name is Nicklas, but feel free to shorten it to Nick if it's difficult to pronounce in your language.

If you could change your current username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible usernames list, mention it!

If I had to change it, I would perhaps have used my real name instead of just a random handle. I have just registered @nicklas as well, but I feel like it's way too late for me to change it now, and I'm happy with @valth, so I will stick with that.

Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so that the creator of the challenge can track all the posts and check them out

Sure.

Nominate 5 people for this challenge

I would like to nominate @xabi, @vinamra, @effofex, @gyldenhorn (I remember you did a post about your name a while ago, but you haven't done the challenge yet, have you?), and @kamchore.

Sort:  

Hei Nicklas, @Valth
Så du er en gammle wow`er? Har lagt ned mine timer i det spillet gitt :)
Siden du var så grei å nominere meg skal jeg få skrevet en post jeg vet du :)

Hei @gyldenhorn.

Å jada, jeg har brukt (litt for) mange timer på WoW opp gjennom årene. I det siste har det ikke blitt all verdens sammenlignet med da jeg var yngre, men det hender fortsatt jeg sjekker innom :)

Challenge accepted....thanks for the nomination:) I am glad that you remembered me my friend...it would be fun...

I have completed the challenge...It is so fun...

Great! I'll be checking our your post now ;) Sorry about being a bit late though!

Thanks for remembering my name in your nominations. Indeed it is an honor for me to be nominated by "Nicklas" aka @valth Your challenge is accepted. Soon you will find my story with my other posts. Once again thanks for giving me an honor. Stay blessed @Nicklas

Hehe, I wanted to nominate some of the people who leave great comments, so of course I remembered you ;)

It's pretty wild to think considering how active you are in the community that you ever tried to be anonymous. I was intrigued by this, so I did my own :
https://steemit.com/steemitnamechallenge/@thegreatlife/the-steemit-name-challenge-thegreatlife

I don't think I would ever change mine, but one name I use to use for profiles was "Thantose." it's funny, because on it's own it doesn't mean anything, but it is actually a misspelling of the word "Thanatos," which is a personification of death..but since I was young and originally got the name from the game "The Secret of Mana," I hadn't a clue that I was so far off until years later... which, by then, I refused to change it to the facts.. Go figure. ha..

Hehe, yeah, but I didn't know that I was going to become so active with the community when I first registered though ;)

Haha, that's a cool story, and I'm sure there are other users who have also copied cool characters from video games, and later found out the meaning of this username.

Classic! I suppose many of us have had names we've used on old forums or in video games that become almost like our online identity or trademark.

Yeah, that's true. I believe some people even adapt their online usernames into nicknames to use in real life as well.

Kult å lese! Jeg har nemlig ingen story bak mitt brukernavn, haha!

Hehe, ja, jeg har liksom sett for meg at historien bak navnet ditt er at du heter Susanne i virkeligheten også :P Men det er jo ikke så dumt å gå for fornavnet sitt som brukernavn da: jeg angrer litt på at jeg ikke gjorde det samme selv.

Det har du helt rett i!
Vel, det er vel fordeler og ulemper med begge deler. Du har heldigvis valgt et brukernavn som er enkelt å huske.

Jeg må jo innrømme at jeg hadde det litt i bakhodet når jeg registrerte meg da. Dersom man velger et navn som ingen klarer å huske eller stave, så skal det mye mer til for å bli sett på sosiale nettverk.

Good thing you settled for valth instead of valthair as it looks more cool and can easily be mistaken as a real name. Nice real name though :)

Yeah, I agree. And it's also a bit more difficult to spell. I like short names for websites such as Steemit, and I'm glad I chose one like this :)

Nice real name though :)

Thanks! It's a hassle to spell though; there are three common variations of it, so it gets spelled wrong most of the time if I tell it to someone.

Good to know about your username, i also experienced the desire to change my username sometimes but as you say we are already reached too far for do that,but still i like your and mine username 😉

Hehe, yeah, it's probably way to late for you to change your username as well. It's best to just stick with them now ;)

Yup that's true 😅

I wasn't so random about it... Used my real name.. Can't change it... Haha... BTW your real name is so averse to the name @valth

It's probably not a bad idea to have your real name here, especially if you want to become a popular blogger :)

Yeah, they are pretty much nothing like each other..

when we join new group or plstform in media social we didn't preare what mus i use user name, it cause we just type what is in our mind. may be we mak a random name or may be an abbreviation as nickname.
It coud be someone has different user name with his email, true name etc. but i can say thet everyone has their opinion and it dosesn't matter to do according their thought

Yeah, that's true. My username was pretty much one of the first random things that came to my mind, and it was not a conscious decision at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87