The steemit name challenge

I was nominated the other day by @wolfhart and then tonight by @sistem. When wolfhart nominated me I decided I would only do it if a second nomination came. I don't really like doing these kinds of games but, in the interest of community spirit... Blab, blah, blah ;)

The Rules:

  • Tell us in a post how you chose the current Steemit username you have. The story behind it.
  • Tell us your real name!
  • If you could change your current username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible usernames list, mention it!
  • Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so that I can track all the posts and check them out
  • Nominate 5 people for this challenge

How I chose it

 
Well how I chose it was a very long and complicated journey that took me across rivers, deserts and through many a dark cave where eventually, far atop a mountain that overlooked what once was known as Shangri-la, I had an epiphany. It was a moment of clarity so pure that divinity itself must have played a hand in its creation. Yeah, I used my real name. The KP are my initials.

My real name? Are you serious?

 
So yes, my real name is Taraz which is technically not a name at all, it is a word. There is a Russia based name 'Taras' which is similar but as far as I know, unrelated. I have never met another Taraz but I have met a Taras.

As said though, it is a word not a name and it is Persian for ornament, or at least, something very similar. There is more to that story but not for now. But, I actually have 2 middle names also, the first is Johann and goes together with my given name. Johann is a form of John, which means, God is Merciful. So, I am technically: The ornament of God is merciful. Perhaps, I am poorly named or, perhaps this is merciful me.

If I could change it and why.

 
I wouldn't change my real name, there are lots of benefits to have a weird name, some drawbacks but, more benefits. However, if I had known more about Steemit before joining, I would have likely been a little more anonymous. I would have likely chosen minorityofone. The reason is that all new ideas that have changed the world have started from one person and slowly developed into something much greater, even if that person is no longer remembered.

I would choose it for myself not because my ideas would change the world but, I have many, many ideas and often they tend to be outside of the group averages, outliers or a little bit before the majority. I have explained the reason I can do this before but generally it is because I have a very wide interest area and listen and observe a lot.

Nominating 5 people

I hate nominating people for challenges. It puts a social obligation on them and forces them to perhaps do something they might not want to do.

So, here are my 5:

@trumpman - for obliging me to give to charity 3 days in a row (yet to do).

@m31 - because she once nominated me for one of these silly things and guilted me into doing it. How'd that end again?

@steemitadventure - because, really? I imagine he has 15.036 SP and autovotes at 1 minute on Trending posts.

@saywha - because he obviously struggles for content and this might be his best post idea this year.

@abh12345 - because he is a numbers guy but doesn't seem to have thought too long and hard about that series.

Oh, the picture is of me doing what I love to do, taking naps. My daughter is in the picture also.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Awesome! I was too lazy to write a normal post today, this came handy! 😍😍😍

This is what these challenges are for.

Nice, I was recently set this challenge by @hitmeasap, I like these kind of things but don't find time to do everything I am nominated, nor do I want too, but this one looks good and I like getting to know people more. I had wondered if it was your real name, never thinking it wasn't the KP got me but that makes sense now too. Thanks for playing along, I am interested in @trumpman's response. lol..

Yeah, I very rarely do these considering I already have so much content. I am pretty sure @trumpman is named that way because of the similarity of hair he shares with his idol.

Haha. Its the idol stuff im interested in lol. Some good explaining could be warranted lol. Plus all I know of him to date is he likes odd genetials and gets bored in Discord server's. Lol.

there is so much more.. he likes all genitals. That is it.

Hahaha abh12345 really got me...if I had the opportunity of nominating more people, I would have nominated him too. That name though. Can't wait for his response.

Owk so obviously it's not your Nick name but your real name...that's cool. People don't often use there real names on platforms like this. Thanks for accepting this challenge @tarazkp. I really do appreciate your time.

People don't often use there real names on platforms like this.

When I started, I didn't know much about it at all, never even googled it, just signed up for a social media based on a mouth to mouth reference with no information. I am not a reddit person and the like. Social to me means, people have some idea as to who I am. I didn't add my full name because I thought I could do that later. Lucky ;) Not that it matters, I am easy enough to find.

I recently joined this challenge, although it seems silly to think it's funny to think that some users are based on (others are relatively normal) but there are names that you say... what does it mean? When I started to nominate in my post I thought about you, you are one of the people who didn't understand your user, but in the end I think I didn't label you out of pity, at least I know the story and for me it's great to have a unique name... mine is Melvama and I doubt that there is a double, so I think we are unique, happy night.

It is interesting to think about where names come from originally and their meanings and also why parent's chose them.

And the best part is that sometimes we don't imagine the stories and many of them are usually very funny, thanks for your kind comment, happy day and blessing to the little girl of the house.

I didn't like this challenge at the beginning but I kinda like it pretty much now. Quite funny with your post tonight and some of your nominations are just dope.

I can't take everything seriously ;)

Four20 - everyone in the weed communities favorite day or hour.
For me it is a little more.... it's my birthday. Being born on 4-20 didn't really mean much other than being born on the same day as Hitler and having horrible events happen. Then there was a movement and suddenly I got "Wow you were born on 4-20!"
I am a total advocate for legalization of marijuana especially for medical purposes. The amazing things I have seen CDB oil do and the fact that hemp is one of the industrial plants that have ever grown on this earth.
My name is Laura and that's my Steemit name story.

I am a total advocate for legalization of marijuana especially for medical purposes.

Were you an advocate before the movement or just thought, better birthdays? :P

Living in Finland, one cannot advocate such things but more research is needed here for medicinal/ recreational usage. Here they treat it like it is bath salts.

As an Australian however....

I've always supported the movement.
I find it absolutely ridiculous that hemp was outlawed. Hemp contains .03% THC.
I have witness the helpful and healing aspect of medical marijuana.
CBD oil is awesome on sores which do not heal. My mom had a skin tear that just would not heal.
Put some CBD gold on it and put a bandage on it. The next day, the sore had scabbed, the following day the scab had fallen off and she was healed.
I have never seen anyone freak out after smoking weed unlike the bath salts video I have seen.
I live in California and the authorities have always been laxed on weed usage.

The « How I chose it » it part really made me laugh 😂

Loved the explanation. Also the if I could change it makes sense. At times it's good to go anonymous and live that life. I go by the name "thenomadictales" for I feel it passes on the main motive of my posts and explains well even before someone reaches out to my wall.

I think that is a good idea too where people have an idea of the content based on the name. I could have also had ramblingsofacrazyoldman :D

haha we really need to find alternatives to word 'OldMan' there.

grumpybeyondhismiddleagedyears

Haha pick it soon. M sure there will be many takers - including me 😂

I nominated you cause I was really curious about "taraz" . I couldnot get my question answers without being nosey :) Wasn't to sure if you would accept .
Well done , Good name

ornament of God is merciful

that fits well :)

nominating people for challenges. It puts a social obligation on them and forces them to perhaps do something they might not want to do.

Terrible thing to do to someone , Just Terrible !

Thats one Great picture

Terrible thing to do to someone , Just Terrible !

;)

Thats one Great picture

As much as I hate pictures of myself and phone photos, I think my daughter looks cute.

Hi postingan kamu sangat bagus ya... Saya sangat menyukainya.
Oh ya jika kamu berkenan silahkan kunjungi blog saya @rizazulmi terimakasih teman...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81