The Steemit Name Challenge - @okkiedot (English only) (5 SBD prize inside!)

in #steemitnamechallenge6 years ago (edited)


Posting photographs accompanied by some short wit, a corny joke, or some nonsense gibberish isn't enough these days, huh?


Now you want to know why I chose my username. And even my real name!
And I have to write more than a paragraph! Ah, the heck with it!
(Ok, this little rant is over :P)

The Steemit Name Challenge

I was nominated by @fraenk to play the game of names...
It's all your fault! (:P)

The rules of the #steemitnamechallenge:

1. Tell us in a post how you chose the current Steemit username you have. The story behind it.
2. Tell us your real name!
3. If you could change your current username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible usernames list, mention it!
4. Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so that the creator of the challenge can track all the posts and check them out.
5. Nominate 5 people for this challenge.

okkiedot is actually Okki E Dot


Okki is a nickname of mine, I think there are more people who know me by this name than by my real given name. My surname starts with an E.
Now do the math :P

What kind of nickname is that? And what's his real name then?

My real name is a rare one and even more rare because it is written the Polish way. Yes, that's where I was born in the early eighties. It is a variation of the name of the first emperor of Rome. Very complicated for a little child so I guess this is what I looked like when my parents named me this way.



sauce: reddit.com

Chill down, it is an EMPEROR's name. You know the old saying, "nomen est omen". Hell yeah, an EMPEROR's name. Apparently, my parents had a big future in mind for me. Sadly, I did not find a country willing to accept me as their rightful emperor. Not even an island. Maybe I have to declare one in my garden...*laughs maniacally



sauce: Click for more infos about the emperor.

The guy above is the first (best, greatest...ok, Stop Donald!) emperor of Rome. After Julius Caesar was assassinated, young Gaius Octavius, who was 18 years old back then, worked his way up and became the emperor at the age of 38, better known under the name that was given to him by the senat of Rome - Augustus. So, I still have some time left to accomplish that...



sauce: made by user Borsanova

Remember the last part of the title of this post?
The one mentioning the 5 SBD prize?


Let's play a round of Rumpelstiltskin. You tell me my real name with the right spelling and you win. One try per person, first one to get it right wins the prize! Btw, I went past 1,000 followers a couple of days ago, so I'd like to thank you all a lot and I hope I can keep you entertained. Here's something back :) The winner will be announced after payout.



Yeah, this is your future emperor ;-)

Well, no.3. Would I change my username?


No, why would I want to do that? It's created from my nickname, it has a personal background. Not random at all.

There's only one thing left to do.
Select five poor souls for sacrifice.


I hereby nominate:

@fyrstikken - probably too busy, but he has humor, maybe he makes something fun from this
@papa-pepper - you gotta aim high
@daveks - a post without a sunset ;-)
@keepdoodling - come back!
@alienbutt - C'mon, I got to know this!

Please don't hate me!



Yours, @okkiedot

#steemitnamechallenge #writing #life #stupidgame #chainletter
Sort:  

cuddle_hug3.png

Hahaha... awesome. I'm proud of myself for dragging you into this!

So you are Oktawiusz then... that's kinda special indeed!?


P.S.: here the confetti celebrating 1000 followers with you

Unfortunately Oktawiusz is not the right answer. You got 2 letters wrong.

ah dang... well... at least I know now :D

Too bad there were only two tries. It wasn't that hard to earn 5 SBD.

engagement is hard to find on steemit :P

Well, to give others the chance to participate and win, I won't comment on the answers. I'm going to solve the riddle at payout time.

Btw, at first I was not very amused by this obligation. It took a while to create it, but in the end I must admit it was fun.

Uh oh, what's that strange colored stuff? Is that snow? Not again^^

Yeah... i hate those chainmail things... bloody peer pressure :P

But that was a worthy read and, i dunno, it's actually kind of nice to know where your name comes from! I'm happy you stepped out of the comfort zone of photography with bilingual flavor-text...

Yeah I know. I could be better and write real articles. Still, photo posts will always remain, I like to put them out there :)

Oh I hope you will keep putting them out there!

A good picture is still worth more than a thousand empty words.

My guess is "Augustyn" :)

Thanks for your guess :) I'm going to solve the riddle at the end of the payout period.

I look forward to it! :)

Well, Augustyn is not the right answer. @fraenk almost got it right, the name ends with "an" instead of "usz".

Eh, what a pity! Anyway, I like the "@okkiedot" )))

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by okkiedot from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48