Hokule’a, Star of Gladness — Steemit Name Challenge

in #steemitnamechallenge6 years ago (edited)

Aloha! My Steemit name is pretty straightforward, but I have much to say in this post, including the reason I don’t like to be called “Kat.”

I’ve been meaning to do this challenge for ages. How about a shout out to @felobtc, who started this fantastic idea to help us get to know each other. Gracias, amigo!

tree smiles.jpg


My Real Name.


My real name is Katrina Hokule’a Ariel. I chose @katrina-ariel as my Steemit name because I’m an author, and part of the reason I joined was to build my author platform (otherwise known as reaching more people who might want to buy one’s books), so it seemed the obvious choice.

Little did I know I’d find people here who would become my family, and bring me such joy and camaraderie!

Ariel was once my middle name, and yes, I share it with a certain Disney princess. I took it as my last name after getting divorced 11 years ago. I adopted Hokule’a as my new middle name at that timeWhat I love about this name is it's 100% me. If I ever get married again, I am unlikely to change it. I like it as it is.

Also, in case you’re wondering, I don’t mind how you pronounce Ariel. Personally, I like it as “Ah-re-elle,” but most people say it “Air-e-elle.” Either one works.


Hokule’a, Star of Gladness.


This name comes with a story…

Shortly after leaving my ex-husband, almost eleven years ago, I took a month-long road trip from BC, Canada, down to my birth-state of Colorado, on to Arizona, and then over to California.

One evening at sunset, I pulled up to a beach just as an old surfer was putting his board into his truck. We got to talking, and not long later he and I were sitting on the beach with my guitar.

After maybe twenty minutes of talking, he said, “You’re Hokule’a! Star of Gladness.”

The name hit home, as if I’d been waiting for it my whole life.

That old surfer (who lived in Hawai’i for thirty years) proceeded to borrow my guitar and play me the song that goes with my name. I love this song. I could listen to it on repeat for hours.


“Hokule’a, Star of Gladness,” performed by Braddah Iz, Israel Kamakawiwo'ole (via YouTube)

That surfer and I became good friends, and I visited him on many trips. He taught me to surf, and was a blessing in my life till the day he passed over to wherever surfers go to ride waves in the afterlife. I still think of him with a great deal of love, and gratitude for my name.

Hokule’a is the Hawaiian name for the star Arcturus, and also a legendary ship that has helped renew the tradition of Hawaiian wayfinding.

I have only been to Hawai’i once in my life, but one day I’ll get back there. I’m tied to these sacred islands now, with gratitude and reverence.


via giphy.com, from Disney’s Moana


Please don’t call me “Kat.”


People like to try to shorten my name to “Kat,” which makes sense. It’s the easiest way to come up with a nickname when you’re looking at “Katrina.”

However… I have a history with this nickname, and I don’t like it anymore.

I used to go by Kat, back in my snowboarding days. My ex-husband called me this name, and only this name. He never called me Katrina. As I expanded, growing into who I am, I felt like he only saw a small portion of who I am, and felt like the name only encompassed a fraction of my beauty.

I’m part cat, but I’m not just “Kat,” I am Katrina Hokule’a Ariel. I’m fuller and broader than the three letters at the start of my name. And, quite frankly, I want that to be acknowledged by those with whom I interact.

So, now you know. If you slip and type “Kat,” I’m not going to take offense. Don’t worry. Just please don’t call me that all the time.


Okay, so what can we call you?


So glad you asked! Here’s a list of names you’re welcome to use:

  • Katrina (the obvious one)
  • Princess (use this if you want to make me glow)
  • Leia or Le’a (Le’a is part of my middle name, after all)
  • Hokule’a (anyone willing to type out my Hawaiian name is good in my books)

If I could change my username, what would it be?


This one is easy.

I’d be Princess Kat-Leia. That’s my name in a number of discord servers. @enginewitty named me thus, given my affinity for Princess Leia, and it stuck. I love it. Thank you, X40L1N!


Some more music for your commenting pleasure:



Hawai'i Aloha | Song Across Hawai'i | Playing For Change Collaboration, via YouTube

I’m not going to nominate anyone, but I’d love to hear about your Steemit name, so consider yourself nominated if you feel inspired to write about this, and please let me know if you do up one of these posts!

Mahalo for reading!

Aloha! @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
(All gifs via giphy. Top photo mine.)


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner by @PegasusPhysics

the alliance
Banner by @bearone

Steemsugars

Sort:  

@katrina-ariel That's been one of the best Steemit Name stories I've read till now. From now on, I'll call you Hokule'a, the star that shines the path of @thealliance and their proud members.

Thank you for being part of this challenge, letting us know more about you and spreading the word to the Steemit world. A huge hug for you, Hokule'a!! =D

This is so sweet. Mahalo! Thank you so much! Hug received and returned with much love.
Aloha, mi amigo. Brightest blessings to you!

Love you back Princess. Glad you approve 😘🤗

Mahalo for your thoughtfulness, for your generosity, for your friendship, and for giving me another much-loved name! 💖💖💖

Mahalo for offering! So glad to come across this post of yours Princess Le'a 🌸 thank-you for sharing your precious stories with us!! It really is cool to get to know you in this way 🙌 i can agree, with the common thread we share regarding the connection of the Hawaiian Islands. I adore your smile in your picture it radiates your name, especially your middle name, and last name 🤔!! Haha!! Would you consider your middle name to be your Spirit Name? Kudos to @felobtc for running this series.

Aloha! Mahalo for reading and caring, my friend. Yes, I'd say Hokule'a is my spirit name, for sure. Also, just to clear up confusion, Engine didn't start this series, @felobtc did. Always good to see you, lovely. Have a wonderful day! 💖

Thank-you!! For clearing that up ❤❤

In my place we believe that names have a power over those who bear them and as such people are careful with the names they choose to bear as well as the names they give their children.


I am from the bini speaking part of Edo State in Nigeria. My name which was given to me by my father is Osahon. I have several names; my maternal grandmother and grandfather named me also but I do not use the names only Osahon.


In the bini language, my name in full means God hears. Osa is the bini word for God. I like to think that the name gives me a path to my creator. 😂

That's a wonderful name! Yes, I believe that names have power as well, and I felt like I came fully into myself when I changed my name legally to the one I carry now. Thanks so much for sharing yours. God does indeed hear us, and your name is a blessed one!


Sending some extra love to this post ;)


Thank you!!! You're wonderful. 💖

heh :) my friend, I love your colorful personality. It's great to know you!
Take care of yourself on that tree! :D

Thank you, sweet one! It is so fun to get to know each other through these posts. As for the tree, all good. Trees are some of my best friends. 💖

As we go through our lives and sometimes make big changes in Who We Are and how we participate in the world, I think it's only natural to take on a new name. Especially such a special one as "Star of Gladness." :-D

Resteem bot Service! Promote Your New Post.Find New Freinds - Followers - Upvotes. Send 0.400 SBD and your post url in memo and we will resteem your post to 9000+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

I am going to use Princess Katrina. Would that be fine?

Sure! That's an acceptable combination of my preferred names. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44