«Josephine?»

About an aeon ago @m31 smacked me in the face with yet another gauntlet in a form of a #steemitnamechallenge. Now that I've managed to get back on my metaphorical feet and have an abundance of leisure time, I am finally ready to face this one too. Brace for impact, it’s story time!



Hang on. We'll have to break this down. This is going to take a minute.

Josie

Josie is a shortened version of my longtime nickname and username in various platforms - Josephine - or a derivation of it. So how did I come to choose the name Josephine as my nickname? Is it because of my favourite character from Little Women? Is it because it's the name of Napoleon's wife? These could have all been solid reasons, but in this case, they are just amplifiers.

Josephine was a code name for Nikita in the La Femme Nikita series (1997-2001), a show that sparked my interest in all things spy, tech and fashion. Not to forget a whole row of sunglasses.

So why not Nikita2214? Wow, wow, hold your pony. We wouldn't want to be THAT obvious now, would we? I mean the belly dancing in and of itself is already too on the nose! This is why Bond movies are not any good as spy movies, you're not much of a spy if everyone knows who you are. To think of it, the only good spy movie I've seen thus far is Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

Rushes off to the wilderness of internet to check out what other great spy movies she's been missing out on.

Three hours later.

Right, where was I? Yeah, no, for sure, I am totally aware of the fact that I would make a dreadfully awful spy and I am also aware that I could not handle it. I hate unexpected plot twists as is, to think that that would comprise the whole day to day life..? No, thank you!

However, to this day, if I have to go into a situation with too many unknowns, too many spinning plates and variables, I pretend that I'm a secret agent on a mission. It helps with the stress because you realise you're lucky that that stress is going to wear off as soon as "the mission" is over and that you don't have to live in it permenently.

2214

Why two thousand, two hundred and fourteen? It's not two thousand, two hundred and fourteen. It's 22 and 14.
Oh, god, we're gonna go into the whole Josie and numbers thing already, aren't we? I thought it was too soon for this, but since we're here.. try your best to hold on, and good luck.

Well. Numbers. How to put it. I have weird relationships with numbers. And numbers, as far as I can tell, have weird relationships with each other. Yup, I said it. Since childhood, I've always seen numbers in how they relate to one another and thus I am not a huge fan of odd numbers, or god forbid, prime numbers (with the exception of 2, surely). I like my numbers either round or even. Blame me!

Fourteen came first and there is a rather obvious reason why I relate to it - it is after all date of my birth, but it has also shown itself in various other aspects throughout my life so much so, that there has been no doubt - 14 is my number, even if, divided by two it makes 7, which I scoff at. That arrogant bastard!

Twenty-two came later. So, yeah, you may ask, why aren't you Josie1422 then? Well, I mean, 22 is more solid, stable and heavier than 14, obviously, and not just by the looks of it. In fact, the 22 kind of asks for another set of 22, but, well, 14 came first, so I kind of have to sacrifice that symmetry for a kind of more accurate numerical representation of me.

I just doublechecked that by the time I registered for the account I couldn't have used either Josie or Josephine on their own, but even if I could, I probably wouldn't have, as that 2214 suffix is by now just as equaly a part of my identifyer as the name itself.

L or i?

Someone who's observant enough will already have noticed that my real name is peppered throughout my blog. Soo, is it Leva then? NO, NO, NO!! Why would you presume I write my name uncapitalized? It's Ieva, as in ieva, as in the Latvian version of Eve. And yes, yes, I typically am, indeed, the root of all evil. xD

Calling me Leva is a common mistake in international work environment. When I was still a cabin crew and the blue name tag you see in pictures broke, I ordered a new one just to receive one with Leva written on it. Needless to say that I did not wear it and asked for a new one right away.

Change username?

No! Thank you, I am not interested in changing my username. For the obvious reasons that my current username packs a whole lot of meaning for me and I wouldn't have it any other way.

Steemitnamechallenge rules

I know this is an old challenge and I had wanted to do it when it was still relevant, but unfortunately life is life and sometimes it requires attention and a whole lot of energy, so now that I have a moment to breathe, I took back up the scraps of what I had started working on. Apologies for the 2-month delay. :D

1. Tell us in a post how you chose the current Steemit username you have. The story behind it.
2. Tell us your real name!
3. If you could change your current username, which name would you choose and why? If you have a possible usernames list, mention it!
4. Use the tag #steemitnamechallenge
5. Nominate 5 people for this challenge

I will refrain from nomination anyone in particular, as I do not support the passive-aggressive manner of chain letters and also because it asks to reveal the real name, which I don't know if everyone would be ok with on here, but if you find this fun and something you'd want to roll with, feel free to refer to me as your nominator.


Hugs&Coffee,
~Josie~


Previous challenges:

Sort:  

Yeah, I always wondered about those numbers and couldn't come up with a theory that fits. Now I know why :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49