The Steemit Name ChallengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitnamechallenge6 years ago (edited)

I just got tagged with this challenge of my story behind my steemit name by @nomadicsoul. So... here it goes. ..

How I got my current Steemit name

My real name is super generic and if I ever get famous they would never find me in Google. Every database that I’m in, there’s multiple Richard Lee’s. So I wanted a real sounding name to at least stand out a bit. So I chose Jay Kimura or JKimura to shorten it. I had to pick an Asian sounding name because I’m Asian. So I ran through some Japanese last names because they have more variety. I wanted a real name and not a screen name because I have a variety of interest and I don’t know what to post. Kimura sounded cool because it’s a type of arm lock move in Jiu-Jitsu.

Real Name

As you already know, my real name is Richard Lee. I feel kind of lucky to have this name, because the way my parents picked my name was so random. They grab a random name from a book and voila- Richard. I am so fortunate that I wasn’t named Jessica or some other name that doesn’t fit my gender. It would be interesting if my name came out Tyrone. Kids in school would be so confused.

What would I change about my name

If I could change my username, I would have made my first name more ethnic.

What do you think about people who call themselves by a different name on the internet? Let me know what you think. Is it deceptive? Do you trust them less?

Tag

@cestlabby
@darkflame
@magnifik
@positivechange10
@stachu

Sort:  

"if I ever get famous they would never find me in Google." haha that's a GOOD thing!!! I love generic names for that reason!

Too many creepers out there haha. TLC knows it's true. Lol you're Asian with a Richard Lee name? haha I love that!!!!! Glad I tagged you, this is interesting!

I'm glad you gave me a reason to write a post.

Also, great debate question at the end.... I've had this discussion before. I'd say yeah it's deceptive but also no it's not. If you need to protect yourself because you're a public figure then go ahead

It's interesting to see how the internet has changed.

I remember back when we were trying to get everyone off the phone so that we can log on to AOL instant messenger and everyone hid behind screen names. Now everyone is sharing their whole lives on the internet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97